Curse you, Insomnia!

I was dead tired last night. The weather has been terrible lately, and electricity outages have been frequent so the AC was barely managing to cool my bedroom. But I thought, hey, I didn’t manage to nap in the afternoon, so I’m probably going to conk out immediately in the evening! But as I lay wide awake in my bed later on, I realised just how wrong I’ve been.

Insomnia decided to make an appearance the moment I lay my head on the pillow, forcing me to think about my novels while playing Mambo Italiano in the background… only I don’t know the whole song, so basically it was stuck on a “Hey, mambo! Mambo italiano!” loop. I kid you not. I have no idea why Insomnia chose this song; it’s not like I had heard it anytime recently!

I tried reasoning with Insomnia. You have to understand I was desperate; it was nearing 1 a.m. and I had to wake up at 7 in the morning for work. I told Insomnia that it can keep me up as long as it wants during the weekend, but that I really really needed to sleep right now. Insomnia told me to shut up. So I attempted to count sheep, and between the never-ending loop of Mambo Italiano and the fluffy white sheep jumping over the fence, I somehow managed to doze off.

Needless to say, I’m very tired this morning, and I’m seriously hoping I can get through the remaining six hours of my shift without falling asleep over the keyboard.

Some people think Insomnia is a blessing, because it allows them to stay up and be more productive, but these people either don’t have to wake up at crazy hours of the morning, or else they can function quite normally on little hours of sleep. But that’s not me. I need sleep. I love sleep. For a while I thought Insomnia and I had parted ways, because I was able to fall asleep pretty quickly, but then last night happened. And you know? I don’t think Insomnia was happy that I managed to fall asleep relatively quickly (sometimes I can lay awake in bed for two or three hours), so I’m pretty sure it’s going to make a comeback.

Sigh. At least it’s Friday.

How do you feel about Insomnia? Does it visit you at the most  inopportune moments, or do you welcome it with open arms?

37 thoughts on “Curse you, Insomnia!

  1. It tends to crash on my couch at some bad times, but overall, I actually kind of like it. For one, it’s the only real reason I’m able to switch my hours around at will so I can chat to certain people in weird time zones. But it also helps with crazy deadlines and a bunch of other stuff. I have way, way too much to do and too little time to do it, so the positive far outweigh the negatives.

    • Well… I suppose it’s good in the aspect that it allows you to chat with these people who can’t help but be in weird time zones! But you’re always tired too. D=

  2. You know how new-born babies don’t sleep through the night? They wake every so many hours to either be fed or changed, or just to annoy the crap out of their new parents? Well, I went ahead and had one – a baby. And in those early months, said baby’s night schedule managed to reset my internal clock to the tune of waking up from a dead sleep every so many hours beginning at one o’clock in the morning. Then there’s this weird thing I have where no matter what time the alarm is set, I wake up an hour to 10 minutes before it goes off. That madness lasted 18 years. It’s just been since January of this year, that I’ve started having more nights where I sleep straight through than those when I don’t. This week has sucked because I’ve got a sinus thing that suffocates me in the middle of the night so in between my usual round of waking up, I’m waking up to gasp for air. Insomnia is a pain in the arse to say the least.

    • I guess that is one reason why I’m incredibly hesitant about having any babies of my own! That just sounds terrible! And the thing about waking up before the alarm could be a blessing – nobody likes to be jolted suddenly out of sleep by the blaring sound of an alarm. I’m glad that you’ve been sleeping better though! And I hope that you feel well again soon. =[

      • Having kids is so worth it. You get so much more out of it than you give up for it, The middle-of-the-night wakings are temporary and usually don’t last more than 3-6 months. My husband’s 17-year night-shift schedule had more impact on my sleeping than my kids ever did.

        SSD: I hope you’re feeling better. Not breathing is no fun.

  3. Great post – I can relate. Since I was 14 I have been having trouble sleeping. Daylight saving came that year – and I simply never adjusted. Then, May of this year – it just got worse. I can lie in bed for a couple hours without sleep. One to two days each week I don’t even sleep. So, on one hand, it’s bad cuz I can’t sleep, but on the other it’s good, cuz I have to fill my night with other activities when insomnia takes over. Also, I’m glad that counting sheep works for you – for me, on rare occasion, colours do it for me – I imagine a couple square shaped colours and I focus on them twirling around and around…good times!

    • Oh dear. I can’t even imagine going without sleep for a whole day. I mean, I’ve tried it before during university years, but usually I ended up crashing (sometimes in the middle of exams)! And the twirling colours would make me feel dizzy instead of sleepy, haha.

  4. I have those nights. I’ll end up getting up for an hour or so in the hopes that when I go back to bed I’ll get to sleep. Then I either nap or drag myself through the next day. The problem with the nap is that it turns my sleep schedule all upside down (because it moves me closer to my preferred awake late, sleep in body rhythm) and it takes forever to get back into sync with the “real” world.

    • I try to avoid naps for the very same reason. If I nap for a few hours in the afternoon, I’ll stay up later and end up being even more exhausted during work, which will cause me to crash when I get home, and so forth.

  5. Miserable for you… I imagine it grinds you down so I hope you get over it soon. (for some reason I always read power outages as outrages… we had one last week and many of our neighbours had appliances low up! Luckily we were ok)

    • Well, at least it’s the weekend now, so I can most definitely catch up! (and we have power outages very frequently where I live. Our appliances never blow up, but sometimes they do get a bit damaged.)

  6. I just went through one of those nights, myself… when the dreams are dialogue and the events are like an audio book? The next day is the real knocker, when you stumble through with a head full of sawdust and swollen eyes. COFFEE!!!

    • These nights are exceptionally terrible! And coffee is definitely the answer. Just where would we be without it, I don’t want to even imagine.

  7. I’m always up until 1:00 or 2:00 AM. If I go to bed any earlier, I’ll wake at 3:00 and never go back to sleep. Happens every time. Thankfully, I work at home and can usually sleep until 8:00, but no matter how little sleep, or how tired I am, I never nap during the day. I feel for you, Zen! It’s rough getting a handle on sleep.

    • You’re lucky to be working at home! I don’t like to nap either, because that throws off my schedule, but unfortunately I wouldn’t be able to function through the rest of the day if I didn’t take one. Hopefully the weekend can get things back in order! =[

  8. I wouldn’t even recognize insomnia if it knocked on my bedroom door (or crept in under the door, I guess). I can sleep at any time for the snapping of a finger – please don’t hate me now… On the very rare occasions that sleep doesn’t just happen by itself, I read a book I know very, very well, that usually works. Or I leave the light on (that’s on those nights where I get the sudden and horrible idea that a monster is under my bed and will start crawling out as soon as I fall asleep) – that also helps.

    • Oh I don’t hate you! I just envy you; I wish I could fall asleep that quickly! Reading doesn’t work for me, because I’d be too worried to sleep while holding the book and crease its pages or something, haha. And I could never sleep while the lights are on! Though when I do imagine that monsters are coming to get me, I squeeze my eyes shut and pretend to be blissfully unaware of everything.

    • Lucky you. I always end up too engrossed or worried that I’ll fall asleep and damage the book!
      I did nap! The AC was working and I managed to sleep some. =D

  9. I have been an insomniac for my whole life! When I was younger and going to school it didn’t matter as much, even though I got up earlier than I do now I was used to running on much less sleep. Now I just can’t hack it!

  10. Pingback: Brain, I’m Going To Need You To Cooperate Now | Daniel Koeker

  11. I’ve always had trouble sleeping, but it’s been especially bad lately…I’m practically gonna turn into a zombie once school starts and I have to get up at 7 every day again. Last night one of my friends couldn’t go to sleep either, so in the wee hours of the morning we had a debate about Aquaman…it’s been crazy @_@

    • Ahaha, that’s a random topic to be discussing in the early hours of the morning. I think I’m turning into a zombie already; only got three or four hours of sleep last night, and I feel terrible. =[

  12. Insomnia is my life. It’s my breakfast, lunch and…wait for it…supper. Dinner is usually saved for yummier stuff :) Great post! just wondering, where did the ‘Zen’ part of your blog come from? like therapeutic meditation Buddhist style Zen?

    • It seems like you never get any sleep! And “Zen” is my nickname actually. My real name is Zeinab, but among friends it’s shortened to Zen, Zenzen or Zenny, haha.

        • I’m glad you think so! xD It’s pronounced “Zay-nab”. I’ve never met someone other than me with the name Zen! Z babies unite!

  13. Poor sleep* is a fact of life for me. It comes in handy at this point. The best time for me to write is 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. and I’m at a time in my life where I can sleep til noon if I need to. Hubby’s not thrilled about it but I’ve always been an erratic sleeper anyway so he’s used to it.

    *Fall asleep on the couch at 9pm, wake up in 2-3 hours, can’t get back to sleep til the sun comes up. Or… no opportunity to fall asleep in evening, get a second wind and I’m awake til 1-2a.m. : (

      • It helps a lot that I usually don’t have to get up until I get at least 6 hrs. sleep, which has always been more or less my normal amount. Sometimes I need a quick nap but that’s usually only if I have to get up and be somewhere by 9 or 10 a.m. — something I try to avoid scheduling.

        • I often find that naps throw my whole sleeping schedule into a state of disarray, so I try to avoid them most of the time!

Leave a Reply

