So much to do, so little time.

I think this is the longest I’ve gone without updating this blog. It feels kinda weird. The truth is, work is keeping me so busy I barely have time to do anything else. I’m so tired I’ve gone delusional. This morning I was feeling incredibly dizzy so I sent a text to one of my coworkers telling her I won’t be coming in. Or I thought I did. Apparently, it was all in my head. I had imagined that I sent her the text, just as I had imagined that she had replied and told me to get better. It was a little bit embarrassing when they called to check on me and I insisted that I had notified them of my absence.

But that should give you an idea of how busy I’ve been! There’s a deadline coming up on Friday and another on Monday, after which I hope things will cool down a bit. There’s a lot I want to do! I want to finish working on The Muse Bunny. I already have a sample cover and everything, so all I need now is to finish writing the story already.

A preview of the cover of TMB… not sure if it’s the final one yet, but so far it looks good!

I also want to pick my way through the ever-growing pile of books on my desk. Not only do I seem incapable of not buying new ones, but I also can’t find time to read them. After a few months where I was consuming a new book every few days, my pace has slowed down considerably.

Currently reading The Hobbit, but as you can see, it will take a lot of time to make a dent in that pile!

I also want to sleep, and I want to go catch a movie or two (I’m thinking Seeking a Friend for the End of the World and Brave, mainly). Hmm. So that’s really not many things, but they’re still things I would like to get to eventually. Thankfully, amidst all this hecticness, there are a few rays of sunshine, including:

1. An assorted box of my Krispy Kremes favourite doughnuts, like their famous Cheesecake one, and others with a caramel, Nutella or Cadbury chocolate center. They were delish!

Don’t they look heavenly?

2. A box of sweet goodies! The box contains an Oreo brownie, macarons, a chocochocolate cake (so many layers!), a chocolate mousse cake and a chocolate-peanut butter cake butter. It was a sugar overdose.

I finished all these in two days. Thinking about it now, I wish I had slowed down a bit.

3. Keel’s Simple Diary. My friend got me a black Keel’s Simple Diary this week. I usually can’t keep a diary, but this one is different. The daunting blank pages are not there. Instead, you have pages filled with nice quotations and simple questions that can be completed in a few minutes! It’s much more entertaining than filling blank pages with my thoughts.

I’m using my pretty Kimmi Doll pen to fill it up!

Haha, this post ended up as a photo dump more than anything else, but I didn’t want the week to pass without posting at least once!

So.. how have you been doing? Are you short on time too? What usually helps you get through all the stress? I hear chocolate helps! ;)

39 thoughts on “So much to do, so little time.

  1. Krispy Kremes! One of my weaknesses!

    Occasionally I have to jump off the carousel and just breathe. A good movie, mindless television, or a really good book can do it… sometimes.

    • They are delicious, aren’t they? What’s your favourite? =D And I wish I could take a break to do any of those things! Mindless television sounds great right about now.

      • My favorite is the glazed. If they’re fresh enough, I can eat a dozen. I don’t know how people like yourself, who are so busy that they can’t slow down for a while do it. Breathe.

        • The glazed ones are delicious, and they’re best fresh. =D I honestly don’t know how I do it either. I would love to take a breather every once in a while.

  2. That diary looks fun, and the donuts look tasty, yum! My best stress reliever is chasing after my dog in the garden – very silly! Hope your week ends better than it started and that you have a relaxing weekend :)

  3. herminestrand says:

    I have so much to do I used to get overwhelmed,and the Tasks component of MS Outlook is now saving my fat and hairy rear end–although I do keep hitting Snooze nearly constantly because I can’t tear myself away from what I’m doing right now in order to address a Tasks reminder that just popped up. Luckily, however, all of my deadlines are self-imposed and I don’t make them public, so if they end up being pushed back, nobody gets hurt. What gets neglected are “normal” things such as vacuuming and laundry, and I eat only when my sole other choice is not being able to write at all thanks to raging hunger pangs. My vision is focused in the distance far ahead of me, on my very first ever royalties payment, which is expected on October 31st. Having one eye always on that keeps me motivated.

    • The Snooze button is a deadly invention. So much can be missed by pressing that button. The thing I miss about freelancing are the flexible deadlines. Now everything I have to do must be finished on time. And you shouldn’t ignore food like that! It’s a good thing, and it usually helps with the creative juices.

  4. Sometimes, taking a break from it all, is all you need to relax. I just came back from a two week vacation. I talk about the need to unplug. It was amazing.
    For the every day stress, I like to do yoga or meditation. If you don’t have time for that, then a simple way to distress – breath in deeply and slowly for a few times. You will feel immediate bliss.
    All the best!

    • Agreed. I wish I could just step back and go away for a week or two of relaxation. You’re lucky to be able to manage it!
      And I will try that. It’s been recommended to me several times, but I guess I don’t have the patience, haha.

  5. Ugh those donuts look DELICIOUS!

    I’m also incapable of not buying books, I have a stack similar to yours :) (As well as a shelf two rows deep…) Will be interested to see what you think of “American Gods,” “Little Women,” and “Message in a Bottle” – I’ve enjoyed all three!

    • There were amazing!
      I always feel comforted when I look at my books; it’s like they’ll always be there if all else fails, haha. I’ve read Little Women before actually… or rather, a condensed version of it, so it’ll be nice to read the proper thing! =]

      • Yes, me too! Books really are a great comfort.
        Oh that should be interesting! I had a friend once who read an abridged version of Little Women in middle school and was shocked when she read the real version because apparently they cut a huge plot point out! It will be interesting to compare the two :)

        • I think that’ll probably happen with me too! Oh well. At least it’s a story I like, so it will be nice to read an extended version. =D

        • Oh yes, it’s a wonderful book. I’d recommend the abridged version over no version at all, any day! But it will be fun to compare the two, I’m sure :)

  6. Zen, will things eventually slow down for you so you can add some of the things you enjoy back into your life – including sleep? I love your book cover! The rabbit ear in the “h” is adorable. Krispy Kremes! I’m a sucker for just glazed; they melt away in your mouth, no chewing necessary. Hope you were able to read a bit on your day off.

    • I really hope so, and sleep is an absolute must. xD I’m glad you like the cover! Still having it tweaked a bit, but it should be ready soon. I hope. And they do, especially when fresh and hot. =D I wasn’t able to read, I’m afraid, but I know I will be doing some reading this weekend.

  7. I feel your pain. Am sort of in the same boat and also took a sick day today, I auto-scheduled a few posts for the next few weeks so I can un-tether myself from WP for a bit, except to occasionally hop on and see what others are doing.

    Good post! Sometimes the ones you cobble together quickly turn out better than ones you slave over for hours.

    • Aww, I hope you’re feeling better! Auto-scheduling posts is a good idea… as long as you have time to actually write said posts, haha. I’m falling behind on my blog reading too! =[
      And thank you! I’m glad you like it. =D

  8. I’ve been squeezing in my TV time (most of it anime) while I do my blog posts. My busy is a completely different kind of busy. I don’t have a boss or deadlines other than the goals I set for myself. My busy involves cooking and cleaning house, chasing after three kids all day, and still finding time to do my blog and work on my novel. I hope things really slow down for you soon. Everyone needs a chance to breathe sometimes.

    • What anime shows are you currently watching? =D Some of the new ones are turning out pretty great.
      And that does sound quite busy! I honestly think I’m better off where I am rather than managing a household, because I’d fail miserably at that.

      • We have been watching Fairy Tail and Soul Eater, bust started watching Trinity Blood and Shiki. I have a few others still in my dvr that I haven’t gotten a chance to watch yet. We usually put on Funimation when my husband gets home. I just stumbled on the anime on Netflix…just what I need right?

        • I’ve been wanting to watch Fairy Tail and Soul Eater, but lately I’ve been avoiding long shows. Shiki looks like an interesting one though!

        • Have you seen Darker than Black? It is one of my favorites and it’s not one of those that runs on and on like Fairy Tail. I absolutely love Fairy Tail, but it is killing me. I love and hate how long it is. What ones do you watch?

        • I’ve watched one episode of that but have yet to watch the rest! I watch quite a few. There’s Gosick, Ika Musume, Natsukaya Rendezvous, School Rumble… to name a few! Long ones are a killer. I used to be hooked on Bleach, but I gave up by the time we got to the 160s.

  9. I know how you feel. Sometimes life if such a whirl you’re doing a lot but achieving nothing for yourself. Sounds like you need a holiday. I’m trying to juggle family, work, setting up new biz, reading, writing, blogging & piano practice – not to mention actually seeing friends. If you’re like me though, you know that no matter what you’ll keep on writing even if you can only squeeze in ten minutes here and there. Good luck with everything and get some rest!!!

    • I would love a holiday right about now. Can’t remember the last time I took one! And I do try to get some writing done when I can. Thank you! I will try to catch up on rest this weekend. =]

  10. Definitely not enough time in a day. Sleep deprivation…not fun.
    Not being able to read as much as I’d like, not fun either.
    The fact that you got Krispy Kreme donuts….so not fair. ;)

    • You should get some! I don’t often finds a KK shop, so this was lucky. =D And hopefully I’ll be able to fix the first two things this weekend.

  11. …your blog always has pictures of things I want in.

    Neil Gaiman books and chocolate: I think I’ve discovered my perfect afternoon.

    Anyway. About that time. No, I have none. I have a deficit of time. I am overdrawn on time. It is not my friend. Other than pretending this isn’t a problem (which it is, oh yes) I haven’t found any reliable way of coping with it.

    • Haha, the chocolate looks tempting, doesn’t it? I started reading Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman; it’s a collection of short stories, and they’re great so far!
      When you do find a way, do let me know, won’t you? And I’ll be sure to share if I find anything! D=

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

