I always knew chocolate would get me somewhere.

I was getting ready for bed last night when I get an email notification from WordPress. I click it open, thinking it must be a comment or a reply, but to my immense joy (and shock, mind you) it was an email telling me this post got Freshly Pressed! I couldn’t believe it actually, and I had to read the email twice for the message to register.

Then I squealed so loudly I nearly woke everyone up.The sleepiness was completely gone, and I admit it took me some to be able to sleep after all the excitement, haha. Sadly I didn’t have any Twix to celebrate with, but I commemorated the event with a yummy chocolate cake!

Thank you for featuring the post, WP! And thanks to everyone who commented and liked the post; you’ve made one chocoholic quite happy!

My day has been made!
(Source: http://ihasahotdog.com)

While I’m at being grateful, I would like to thank Andrea Kelley for nominating me for The Booker Award! According to the rules of this award, you have to name five books you would take out of your house if it were to catch fire. That’s a toughie, isn’t it?

After some consideration, I thought that I would most probably save some books I have yet to read, because none of my copies have a sentimental value. I mean, sure I love my books and would try to save them all were it possible, but I think I’d want to save some books that would keep me occupied until I build my collection all over again.

The books I would pick up (from my current to-read pile) are:

1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

2. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.

3. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (even though I’ve read this, I have a brand new gorgeous Penguin Threads edition that I would not part with at all).

4. The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers.

5. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella.

What books would you save while making a mad dash for the exit?

31 thoughts on “I always knew chocolate would get me somewhere.

  1. Congrats :) It’s a great post!

    I really like your list of 5 not-to-be-burned books too. Haven’t read them all but liked King’s a lot. I’d have to go with sentimental family copies handed down from my grandmother (all French classics) just because they are beautiful objects within themselves. Although the idea of losing all my books is quite sad!

    Once again, hip hip hoorah to you (and now I feel like eating a Twix!)

    • Thank you! =D And you should most definitely go get yourself a Twix.

      You know, this is probably the first book I’m going to read by Stephen King. For some reason I’ve always shied away from them (though I have watched many movies based upon his books). And I would save those French classics too if I were you – family heirlooms shouldn’t be let go!

    • I’m glad to hear you say that, and thank you! I’m only just exploring Neil Gaiman books. Would you say that American Gods is a nice read?

      • I love it. It has some very odd moments, but it’s full of mythology and meta-fictional happenings and has a pretty neat murder mystery that just kind of sneaks up on you. Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors, although he does tend to go on and on about the same concepts. They’re really cool concepts, though, and he’s very creative in how he handles them. I’d recommend not reading him all at one time, but definitely whenever you feel the need for dark/darkly comical/mythical/meta-fictional concepts you should keep picking him up.

        • It sounded interesting to me from the summary! =] And I’m not planning on starting on it any time soon. I recently finished Smoke and Mirrors by him, and usually I prefer to wait a bit before starting a book by the same author.

  2. In addition to any remaining Reese’s peanut butter cups, I would grab:

    1. The Alchemist
    2. On the Road
    3. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
    4. The Art on Nonconformity
    5. Whichever Kurt Vonnegut book was closest: hopefully Breakfast of Champions

    Love chocolate and your blog. :)

    • It’s nice to meet new people who love chocolate! =D
      The Alchemist has been on my To-Read list for a while now, but my last experience with Coelho (The Winner Stands Alone) has left a bad taste in my mouth. =[ I rather like the sound of books 3 and 4, though. I’ll make sure to check them out!

  3. What type of angel god delivered from the heavens for which 1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman. is not only the book to save but the number one book on your list?? Can I send you chocolate?

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

