I’m not just a writer.

I’ve noticed that among all the blogs I come across and the bloggers I interact with, people define themselves as writers. Sure writing might be the skill we’re all most proud of, but I’m sure there are other things too by which we can defined. Let’s take me for example, I’ve been writing since I was five or six, and I like to think I’m good at it… but it’s not all I can do!

I’m a foodie. I love trying out new things when it comes to food. When I go to dine somewhere I try to pick a different dish every time, and I’m not deterred if it’s something too unusual. I love Italian food, even though I dislike garlic and onion, and almost any chicken dish is a winner in my book! Cooking, however, is not something I’m good at. I can’t even fry an egg properly.

I’m a bit of an artist. I’m not terribly good, and I mostly focus on drawing anime-like girls, but drawing something I’ve always loved to do. Even my documents at work have doodles on them! Just like writing, I’ve improved quite drastically from when I just used to draw stick figures, haha.

I’m a translator. While it’s not what I pictured myself doing as a kid, it’s not a bad gig. I get documents and texts and translate them from Arabic to English or vice versa. I would love to translate novels, but they never come by to my office. Some people tell me to translate my own novel to Arabic, but I would be like, “Hell no! It took me ages to finish this book. I tore my hair out in frustration over it. There is no way you’re making me write it again in another language.”

I define myself as a reader. Ever since I picked up a Ladybird copy of Thumbelina, my first book ever at the age of 4, I’ve had a love affair with books. I pine for bookshops and new books like Bella pines for Edward, or like a stereotypical fat kid pines for their candy bar.

I’m a movie and anime watcher. I can spend hours watching movies and anime shows and never get bored. There’s always something fun and interesting to watch! I do tend to stay away from the horror genre though after an unpleasant experience with The Ring. That movie left me sleepless for days.

I’m a clumsy dork and I’m not embarrassed to say it. I’m also a daughter, a sister and a soon-to-be wife. I’m also a chocoholic, but I bet my followers know that, haha.

How do you define yourself? =]

33 thoughts on “I’m not just a writer.

  1. Whitney Rains says:

    I love this! I think people forget to talk about things other than writing a lot of times.

    I am a philosopher, a historian, I love astronomy, and baking. I’ve also had a life long love affair with reading. I usually drink way too much coffee and I treat my dogs like my kids most time. :)

    • Yes! I try to add some diversity because it would be nice to know what other common grounds writers have between them. =]
      Astronomy and baking are great! I admit I’m lousy at baking though, even though I would love to be able to create yummy cakes. And yay for reading affairs!

        • Fair enough. xD I can do okay with those instant kind of cakes and cookies, and I once successfully baked a mud pie. I just gotta keep at it I suppose! =]

    • I used to speak a little bit of French, but not so much now. xD Though I can still understand it a bit! And I think it’s easy to forget that when we’re surrounded by so many writers!

  2. looseleafbri says:

    I told someone once that I wanted to become a children’s book author and they told me that all I had to do was to say that I was…silly. Its a lot more work than that! I dont usually define myself as a write because I don’t feel I have earned that right. I am not published, I have written a few things that I am proud of, but a lot of nonsense in between. I am interested in writing, reading, music, art, singing, and writing and directing plays. None of those things would I consider saying “I am a…” simply for the reasons I stated with writing above. I don’t feel I have earned that badge. One day…I will. At least for one of them. Perhaps reading. I am a reader.

    • Agreed! Sure you need to be a little silly and childish to write a children’s book, but you also need to “dumb down” your structures and words and figure out what’s appropriate and what’s not. It feels a bit more difficult to write than adult novels! The reader badge is great, and I hope you manage to get the writer badge soon!

  3. Nice post – really like how you are articulating your many capabilities and showing that there isn’t just one description for every person and how even though each person may have a primary capability they are fond of, that is not the only term that can be used to describe them. As for myself; I’m a writer, a video game player, a soporific romantic, an ex-pop/rock band member, a poet, a lyricist, a university undergraduate, a loyal foodie, and a drinker of fine wine. Nuff said. Cheers!

    • Thank you! Yes, that’s what I was trying to get at. It would be nice to know the many layers that make up a person. Your definitions are interesting! What sort of video games do you play? And what are you studying? =D

  4. I loved this post, sometimes we get so caught up in producing something worth reading that we forget the other parts that make up the whole. The parts that most probably influence the writing. Thank you for this eloquent reminder.

    • You’re welcome! And that’s what I felt too. Honestly I would love to see the bloggers I follow make some personal posts every once in a while. It makes things all the more interesting. =]

  5. I read korean manga about guns and xplosions. Oh and I will marry a woman that says her ideal foods I cheap and american. Wonderful post little one. Wonderful post, you are very right.

    • I’ve never read Korean manga. Is it much different than Japanese manga? Good luck finding a woman like that! I do like such foods, but I’m already taken. xD
      But thank you! I’m glad you like the post!

      • Its a sellers market for a girl like you :), korean manga tend to be 10-20 years behind japanese shounen, in other words back when japanese shounen was good. The big thing with koreans is the focus on color pages, the use of white space (a lot of korean manga are web comics), and a tad snappier dialogue than what you find in current jap manga, A good intro for you would be CITY OF DEAD SORCERER , which you can find online.,

  6. All of my roles and relationships are definers: wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, employee … the list is long. In addition to be a writer, I am a reader, dream chaser, encourager and advocate for handwritten correspondence. Love this post.

    • Handwritten correspondence is the best! Maybe someday my post system will improve and we’ll be able to exchange letters! Thanks for the comment. =D

  7. This is great, Zen. Many things make us what we are :) I’m a musician, singer, artist, dream catcher, mother, daughter, sister, aunt, wife, daughter-in-law, sister-in-law, co-worker, boss, friend, cook, tractor driver, antique restorer, inventor and blogger :)

    Phew – tired now :D

      • Things to make life easier. My children and hubby call me the mother of invention:) We live in a cold climate so I invented a heater that warms under the table (my hubby is an electrician so this makes it easier) though once I’d done this one someone told me they have them overseas somewhere :( I wish I could invent something that makes me squillions :) I’m always looking for the next thing to make…

  8. Loved this post! I am a daughter, sister, wife, writer, reader, office manager, hard worker, dreamer, firefly catcher, cat mom, blogger, quilter, lover of chocolate chip cookies, musician, lifelong learner, beginning wine enthusiast, yoga practicer, fiddler…. This could go on all day. Thank you for reminding us that we are so much more than merely our words. :)

    • You’re welcome! “Firefly catcher” is really interesting; do you collect them and use them for lighting? And chocolate chip cookies are the best!

  9. Yeah, thanks for the post. To be honest, though I think of myself as a writer, I don’t really call myself that—at least until my novel is finally available for more than just me and my friends to read! But I’m also a blogger, an English teacher (to Japanese kids and adults), a father, a husband, a Nature lover, a music lover, a music historian, a fan of novel-like TV shows (“The Wire”; “Breaking Bad” and “Lost” all come to mind); a podcast afficiando…wow, the list can go on and on! Thanks!

    • Hi! Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you like the post. =D Do you find that teaching English to Japanese folk difficult? Do you speak Japanese yourself? And I used to love watching Lost, but I got distracted from it and figured it would be difficult to get back into it. One TV show that’s almost like a novel is “Pushing Daisies”. Even though it got discontinued, I though it was pretty good!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

