Look, ma! I’m a sweet blogger!

I recently received the Super Sweet Blog Award from Gail at the Jotter’s Joint, and was tagged by both Karen and Dianne to do the Look Challenge, and Maddie Cochere gave me the Family of Bloggers Award, hence the “ma”. I thought the title was a clever combination of these three things. No? Well, I tried. =[ That said, I would like to thank these lovely ladies for the awards and tags, so… thank you! :D

Not going to lie, I was pleased when I received the Sweet Blogger Award, if only because it gives me the chance to post the Award picture and answer questions about sweets! So here goes.

First, the Super Sweet Blog Award, I have to answer the following questions:

Super Sweet Questions:

1. Cookies or Cake?
That is difficult. There are so many different kinds of cookies and cakes, so it would be hard to choose! For example, I would take chocolate chip cookies over a slice of cheese cake any day, but I would definitely choose a chocolate lava cake over butter cookies, for example. But for the sake of answering the question, I will go with cake because it usually has tastier varieties than cookies.

2. Chocolate or Vanilla?
Chocolate, of course! However, when it comes to ice-cream, I would most likely choose vanilla because there are few who can get the chocolate flavour right.

3. What is your favorite sweet treat?
Another difficult one! There are so many things that I love! So many chocolate bars, so many desserts, so many cakes… it’s impossible to narrow it down to just one. It’s the same with books. Can you really pick an absolute favourite? It’s super hard. How about I give you a recent favourite? I gave Haagen-Dazs a second chance and tried their Macadamia Nut Brittle – absolutely delicious!

4. When do you crave sweet things most?
I’m always craving something or another, but lately I seem to be craving them the most when I’m at work and have no means of satisfying my cravings. =[

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?
Truffles! I actually plan to give that name to my white cat (when I get it). It’s cute. :D

For this I nominate Daniel Koeker, Maddie Cochere, Author’s World, Andrea Kelly, Of Musings and Wonderings and Patricia Awapara.

* * *

As for the Look Challenge, you basically have to go through one of your stories, find a mention of the word “Look” and post the paragraph and surrounding paragraphs. The one below is from The Muse Bunny. Don’t judge – it’s still unedited!

The only room we haven’t checked out yet is the bathroom, and I don’t think you’ll want to take a look anyway. It hasn’t been cleaned in more than ten days.

But we’re moving from the main object of interest here. Let’s go back to Anna. I realize I haven’t really told you about her. Prepare to be bored with details. On her good days, Anna is a fresh-faced, twenty-five-year old girl with straight black locks and big brown eyes who looks like a teenager when she slips into her funky clothes.  On her bad days, however, she looks like an entirely different person. Gone would be her outrageous colours and replaced with dull browns and blues, her hair would be oily and full of knots, she’d have bags under her eyes and residues of make-up on her face. Added up, those things made her look about forty… no, fifty years old.

You must be wondering what it is that brings about such a dramatic change over Anna. Well, I’ll tell you – Anna is a writer. And this is where I come in.

I am a muse bunny. I’m not your typical bunny though; picture the Duracell bunny and you’re there. At six inches, I’m quite a short creature. I don’t have whiskers – I had them trimmed off a while ago. I’m fluffy and pink in color, due to one incident where I was accidentally shoved into a washing machine with a red sweater. I tried to regain my original white roots but in vain. Oh, and I’m invisible, yes. You think you see me, but it’s really all an illusion created by your minds because you don’t like the idea of being spoken to by thin air.

For this one I tag T. W. Dittmer, Robin Coyle, WriterGurl INK, Monolith Books, Daphne Shadows and Cresting the Words.

* * *

Finally, we have the Family of Bloggers Award, where you tell what attributes you bring to the family, using an anagram of the word FAMILY. I ended up keeping some of the ones Maddie used because they fit.

F – Friendliness

A – Ambitious

M – Modest

I – Imaginative

L – Loyal

Y – Youthful

For this one I’m nominating Daniel Koeker (fiancé, so naturally family ;)), the Jotter’s Joint, Dianne Grey, Karen’s Different Corners and… actually, I’m going to have to go with Maddie’s nominations too and say T. W. Dittmer and Robin, and Maddie as well! Since you’ve already received (and given) this award, you don’t have to do it twice, haha.

Phew. That was a long one, and of course now I’m craving something sweet, haha. Have a great weekend, everyone!

30 thoughts on “Look, ma! I’m a sweet blogger!

  1. Great post, well done on the awards and tags Zen!
    All those lovely sweets makes me hungry. Shame you crave them at work, I hope you can satisfy your sweet cravings soon.
    Thank you for the tag :) – I’ll post my responses over the weekend/Monday.
    I love your little snippet. That bunny sounds great!
    You bring a lot to a family, a true human being :)

    • Thank you, Georgie!
      I’m off work in an hour, so I will definitely make sure I satisfy them. I’ll probably be treating myself over the weekend too, so it’s all good! ;)
      I look forward to reading your response, and I’m glad you like my snippet!
      And awww – thanks. It’s sweet of you to say that. =D

  2. Congratulations and richly deserved! I’ll be checking out all the links on this post:)

    Thank you so much for the ‘Family’ nomination – I really do feel like family here ;)

    And your ‘Look’ is fantastic – I absolutely LOVE the Muse Bunny!

  3. Why thank you! I haven’t seen the “Look Challenge” before. Interesting concept. I love the “regain my white roots” line in your story. I try to hide my white roots!

    Congrats on all your awards. And with your editing.

    • I hope you’ll do it! Ahaha, I’m glad you like it. I think in my bunny’s case, pink does not bode well for him with whole evil muse business.
      And thank you! =D

  4. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award! | AuthorWorld

  5. Pingback: Inspiring Blog Award « The Hand-Written Life

  6. Only just saw this, but thank you! I feel honoured – first time I’ve been tagged for one of these! Will have to get on it when I finish work tomorrow. Really enjoyed the extract, seems like a great read.

Leave a Reply

