Happy October!

I love the colours of Autumn. So pretty!
(Photo Credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been waiting for this month for quite some time, it being the tenth month and all that. October is my favourite month of the whole year, and that’s not only because it’s my birthday month. ;) Why do I like October? Here are some of the reasons:

1. It marks the start of Autumn. No more stickiness and humidity and hot weather. Just cool breezes and yellowing leaves and overall a much, much nicer weather.

2. It’s the time to break out cool jackets and comfy plush robes and fuzzy slippers, and bundle up in warm blankets without worrying about waking up in a sweaty mess in the morning… especially if you, like me, cannot sleep without blankets.

3. It’s all about those warm browns and dark colours, which hide those few extra pounds one might’ve gained over summer quite perfectly, if you ask me. Besides, winter clothes are usually bulky. If anyone says that you gained weight, you could just blame it on clothes!

4. It’s my birthday. Come on! Of course I’m going to love my birthday month, haha.

5. Soups and hot drinks! I tend to avoid these during summer unless I have an air conditioner in the room. I like to enjoy my food and don’t wish to spend half of my time fanning myself. It’s time for bringing out the Hot Chocolate*and marshmallows!

6. The anticipation of NaNoWriMo and new novels. Enough time to build up steam and work the details of my story in my head. I’m pretty excited about this year!

7. Halloween! While it is true that Halloween is not celebrated where I live, I still love the idea of it. It all sounds so fun, and there’s lots of candy, so what’s not to love? I get a little taste of it through the good (and sometimes cheesy) Halloween movies, and occasionally the Halloween candy that somehow sneaks its way into our department stores. =D

8. There are some great movies are going to be released this month. Anyone looking forward to Cloud Atlas or Frankenweenie?

9. Some people say they’ll miss the ice-cream of summer, but really, who says you can’t have it in winter? You could have it alone or along with some hot desserts such as pancakes or chocolate fondant. Yum.

10. Roasted chestnuts! These are going to be in season soon, and they’re absolutely delicious when you roast them over the fireplace.

11. Autumn weather feels like perfect reading weather. When it’s raining and you don’t have anywhere to go, the perfect activity would be to settle comfortably with a good book. =]

12. Baking! During summer we mostly crave cold desserts involving whipped cream and fresh fruits, but with autumn rolling in, we can go back to baking fresh bread and rich cakes without worrying about the kitchen getting too stuffy.

What is your favourite month and why? Do you like October? If not, tell me why? I might be able to change your mind!

—-

* This is not a grammatical mistake on my part. When you don’t capitalize it, you’re simply using “hot” as an adjective; i.e. this chocolate drink is hot. But once it cools down, you can no longer apply the “hot” adjective to it, and the drink is no longer what it is. By making it a proper noun, Hot Chocolate, you can now refer to it using that name even after it cools down. In other words, we’ll be able to say that the Hot Chocolate has now cooled down. But I’m probably overthinking it, haha.

48 thoughts on “Happy October!

  1. Zen, another lovely post.

    October isn’t my favourite month but you do put a very good argument across!

    My favourite month i am not totally sure on, I like summer but I do like parts of winter.

    As English Summer is a little unpredictable,it sometimes feels like Autumn has come early.

    I am also looking forward to Frankenweenie, Hot Chocolate and snuggling up under duvets and blankets!

    I agree, reading a book is the perfect pass-time when it is raining.

    Bring on Autumn :)

  2. I wish we have the trees changing colors. In Miami there is only one season – hot & humid! However, I still love it.
    Don’t have a favorite month. At least, I have never thought about it.
    Happy Birthday! :D

    • I used to live in a place where it was always hot and humid. I couldn’t stand it! I really like my cold weather.
      Maybe your birthday month could be your favourite?
      And thank you! =D

  3. Happy October Zen. You needn’t convince me, I like this month too, and my birthday’s in this month as well. If I had been born a day earlier, I would not have been a Scorpio.
    Also, this is the month where some really cool games start coming out on console, I mean, who isn’t psyched about Doom3 BFG? Great post! Cheers! :D

    • So… I take it your birthday is on the 23rd? Mine is the 16th – I’m a Libra. =D
      Well I don’t think I’ve heard of that game, but good for you! Maybe you can request it as a birthday gift!

  4. All of the reasons why I LOVE October too! It’s also my dad’s birthday month (he’s awesome) and my youngest son’s birthday month.

    I’m excited for NaNoWriMo. Last year I didn’t participate because I could barely get out a coherent sentence haha!

    • Happy birthday in advance to both of them! =D
      I participated last year but failed quite miserably because work got in the way. Maybe we could be buddies?

  5. October is a wonderful month. However, where I live, it is not cool. The leaves aren’t turning yellow, either. Today was 30 degrees Celsius. By Halloween, the average temperature should be around 20 or 21 degrees. Leaves change colour in early December. But it is an amazing month, simply because I’m no longer feeling hot, and I’m not feeling cold, either. It’s just perfect.

    • Well, 20/21 is not bad! Here leaves are beginning to turn yellow, and the weather’s going to drop gradually throughout the month. We had our first storm yesterday! And I agree. October weather is really pleasant. =]
      Thank you for commenting!

  6. Great reasons to love October, Zen! Fall is my favorite time of year. But I’ve always fallen in love in the spring. My birthday is in April, and it’s the perfect month for me. Lilacs, tulips … almost yummy.

    • Thanks! Spring is beautiful too. =D Weather in April is pretty fantastic; there’s always a nice smell in the air. You’re right; it is almost yummy.

  7. I like October bcause things start warming up, but I have to say November is my favourite month (it’s my birthday month) because everything is ramping up for Christmas and you know the holidays ar just around the corner! :)

    I hope you let us know the date in October when we can send you flowers and hugs!

  8. Reblogged this on Zen Scribbles and commented:

    Yay! October has rolled around again. I couldn’t think of anything else that wouldn’t seem like I was repeating myself, so I thought a reblog of these reasons would suffice. ;) Unfortunately, however, no. 6 will have to be crossed out for me as I’m not be partaking in NaNoWriMo this year, because I’m too swamped with game-related stuff to write anything. In fact, I don’t remember the last time I’ve written. =[ But that’s for another post! Still, all the other reasons remain valid, so… happy October!
    Do you like October? Is there anything in particular you’re looking forward to? =D

Leave a Reply

