WordPress is the new Facebook (at least to me).

(Source: Smash Pixels)

I think I’m coming to realise that WordPress feels more or less like a wordier and more interesting version of Facebook, but with less drama and more people who know their grammar. On WordPress you can have mutual friends, you can read status updates in the form of blog posts, you can like a post and comment on it (but unfortunately you can’t edit or delete it yet – those typos will always haunt me), and you can make friends by following blogs.

In a way, one’s blogging worth is equal to the number of comments, likes and followers they have. I think it’s safe to say that most of us feel happy it when someone comments or likes our posts, or even follows us… I know I do. Alternatively, we would probably feel sad or at least disappointed if our post went unnoticed. Just like Facebook status updates. Maybe it’s silly now, but at one point I used to take down a status update if nobody commented on it or liked it, haha.

Then we have Freshly Pressed. Maybe it’s just me, but when the Freshly Pressed Gods smile down upon you and feature your post, leading loads of traffic to your page.. doesn’t that feel a little bit like your birthday? After all, your birthday gets featured on the main Facebook page, so people would naturally see it and drop by your Wall to leave you a birthday wish.

Maybe I’m thinking too much into this, but it was just something that occurred to me the other day. I have fallen out with Facebook. We used to be quite intimate before, but now I sometimes go a day or two without paying any attention to it. If not for the fact that it helps me stay in touch with some of my friends, I probably would abandon it altogether.

But WordPress is different in that we get more than two or three lines per update, and each update is more thought-out and interesting than the next. There’s always something new to read, and you don’t have to keep refreshing the page every few minutes to see if someone posted new content. I can look at pretty pictures, look up recipes, read a short story or a poem, get insight into something I didn’t know about… I don’t know about you, but I’d rather read than waste hours playing a game of Bingo or Tetris or any other popular game (I’m proud to say that I got over my addiction!).

There is also more more similarity; who remembers those questionnaires or “memes” often posted using Facebook notes? Aren’t they a bit similar to blogging awards and other random challenges in which you tag other bloggers? I recently got tagged by Naughty Nefarious to answer 30 questions using one word, so here goes:

1. Where is your cell phone? Desk.
2. Describe your boyfriend/girlfriend? Amazing.
3. Your hair? Curly.
4. Your mother? Religious.
5. Your father? Short-tempered.
6. Your favourite item? Laptop
7. Your dream last night? Pretty.
8. Your favourite drink? Milkshakes.
9. Your dream car? Beetle.
10. The room you are in? Office.
11. Your ex? Nonexistent.
12. Your fear? Infamy.
13. What do you want to be in 10 years? Happy.
14. Who did you hang out with last night? Family.
15. What you’re not? Conformative.
16. The last thing you did? Work.
17. What are you wearing? Skirt.
18. Your favourite book? Okay this one is not fair. Books typically have more than one word in their title! At any rate I’ll give a recent favourite – The Night Circus.
19. The last thing you ate? Peanuts.
20. Your life? Normal.
21. Your mood? Down.
22. Your friends? Far.
23. What are you thinking about right now? Weekend.
24. Your car? Non-existent.
25. What are you doing at the moment? Blogging.
26. Your summer? Humid.
27. What is on your TV? Nothing.
28. When is the last time you laughed? Yesterday.
29. Last time you cried? Tuesday.
30. School? Graduated!

For this I taaaag… well, anyone who feels like doing it really! It’s fun… and it can’t be difficult to come up with one words for some questions!

How do you feel about Facebook? Have you forsaken it in favour of more interesting sites? Can you notice the similarities now?

42 thoughts on “WordPress is the new Facebook (at least to me).

  1. It’s kind of ironic that this post is about how cool it is that we get to read more about everything and how updates aren’t so short… and then you’re forced to answer all those questions in one word. =x

    I’ve fallen out with Facebook as well. I spend a bit more time on WordPress, but in terms of similar social networks, I’ve replaced Facebook with Google+. I’m not really sure what happened to Facebook… it just started getting dull for me. All the things that they’re doing to it don’t help.

    When I use a social network I like to keep more active on the ones with more interaction. If I make a post here, people generally reply (though the ones that go unnoticed kind of suck). I also like seeing what everyone else has to say, finding new people, etc. Facebook… eh. My friends are great, but I don’t see too much there anymore. These days it’s G+ and WordPress that I’m the most active on, with Twitter on the side and some FB,

    • I actually didn’t think about that until you mentioned it. xD It is indeed ironic.
      You know that the only social network I’m active on these days is Twitter… and even with that, not so much. I do occasionally check G+ and scroll through the feed, and FB… eh. Makes you wonder if FB itself is getting dull, or the people on it. >.>; There are really only a few people I’d be interested in “stalking” there.
      And it does suck when a post goes unnoticed, yes. =[

  2. “Better grammar” – hehe – and spelling, also! I never thought about Facebook and WordPress quite this way, but I like it, and have to agree.

    I don’t get as much time on WordPress as I would like and often prefer Twitter for the snippets of time I do have. But, honestly, I’m never disappointed by WordPress.

    • Leetspeak annoys me so much, and you find a lot of it on Facebook!
      I would take Twitter over Facebook any day because it’s easy to go through everything, and WordPress never disappoints, nope. =]
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Hi Zen, I definitely notice similarities now! I still am addicted to Facebook though. I do love blogging though and agree with you it is rather better than Facebook. I sometimes struggle though to find time to read all the wonderful posts, which is where I prefer the few line status’s.

    Love your 1 word answers, will definitely do this myself! :)

  4. I use Facebook more as an aggregator. My WordPress blogs (I have two) feed my Twitter account. Which then appears on Facebook. I do this for professional reasons. Big sites like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn are very good at getting you placed on search engines. I’ve found that if you post regularly to all these networks your chances of being found when your name is searched increases. On the whole I find Facebook a little tedious. ;)

    • You know, I’ve noticed that as well. I don’t post to FB, but my blog does feed my Twitter and G+ account, and lately I’ve been noticing an increase in my hits and referral sites. And it is a bit tedious, I agree!
      Thank you for stopping by!

  5. Pingback: 1 Word Answers | AuthorWorld

  6. Never took up FB–but all the points you make about blogging are true – love you answers–they tell us just that little bit more about you–the boyfriend questions makes me feel old though–have not had a boyfriend for 30 years–I married him!

  7. I still find facebook useful for the occasional what are the acquaintances and distant family up to updates. I’m finding more and more it’s about people reposting amusing commentary from elsewhere. I do like the lengthier composition of blogging. You’re absolutely right about the grammar!

  8. I laughed at the “better grammar” part! Agh, so true. I never thought about the similarities before but you’re right.

    Facebook. It feels like we were all using it last year and I too fell out of it. Not intentionally, I just woke up one day and realized I struggled to get on once a week, once every two weeks, and it was just a chore. Besides using it to chat with long-distance friends and family, I find it boring. And phones and text messaging are just as good for that.

    The 1 word answers tag was fun to read! I think I might steal it – it kind of looks hard, lol.

    • Haha, I’m glad you agree. I stopped to think about it that day and I was all, “waitaminute”. They’re alike in so many ways!

      It is indeed boring. I actually prefer talking to my friends in person or on the phone, but sometimes you have to resort to other means, and I guess that’s where FB comes in handy.

      I’m going to hop over to read your answers now!

  9. I’ve fallen out with Facebook but it’s an on again off again relationship. When I’m on Facebook now it feels like those old West towns with tumbleweeds rolling down the abandoned main street. I absolutely love wordpress now. Great post, Zen, I’m gonna try the 1 word tag.

  10. I never thought about wordpress and fb as being in the same category… I love wordpress and exploring blogs, but I couldn’t give up fb. Too many international friends and mutual friends – I’d loose touch with people if I used e-mail, so going off fb is not an option. But I agree with you that I post much less there than I used to, and I agree with lisaspiral about people reposting “funny” things. That’s really annoying. I think the two (wp and fb) aren’t really comparable though, at least not for me. :)

    • I do have a number of international friends as well, and that’s the only reason why I still do keep FB around. Funny reposts feel pointless to me. There aren’t enough status updates anymore! =/

    • I’ve seen a lot of authors use FB pages to promote books, but I know I’ll prolly neglect it so I never bothered to sign up. And chocolate is a pretty good cure!

  11. Facebook for me, feels like it’s lacking in personality. There is a lot of small things and more of them I don’t need to know, so yes, I prefer the blogs where I can really get some guts out of the matter.
    I hope that mood lifts and I shall do those questions over at my place soon, they are actually quite involved. I like that.

    • That is true. Many status updates these days are just random quotes or else reposts. The mood’s okay, thank you, and do let me know when you do answer the questions! :)

  12. Very interesting post Zen. I really liked the answers that you provided to the questions. At least one of us knows how to follow the rules – you are clearly not as naughty as I.
    In regards to Facebook, I do see some of the comparative elements that are reflective of WordPress. However, yes, I have kind of given up the Facebook ghost. I don’t really know why, but Facebook somewhat freaks me out, and as you make clear in your post above, WordPress is dedicated more so to writing whilst Facebook is primarily concerned with social interaction. I’m one of those people who would rather communicate with a person face to face rather than through a bright screen of pixels and so my need for Facebook is considerably less than my insatiable need for WordPress. Cheers!

    • Haha, I’ve always been quite the rule-abiding kid!
      And I’m like you in that regards. I prefer personal interaction (or at least interacting on the phone) to interacting with them on social networks, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. =[

  13. Hi Zen! I am making time today to read some posts. I enjoyed reading this one. You do have a good point. I have also stopped using Facebook a while back. I believe it happened when I started my blog. I decided that if I am going to limit my time in the internet, I rather spend it on WP.
    It has been about 10 days since I last logged in, so it was good to feel connected again. At least for a little bit. :D

    • Hi, Patricia! It’s good to see you here. =D
      I think I was already not using FB a lot when I came to WordPress, but after that I started avoiding it even more. I believe you’ve made a wise choice by going with WordPress instead of FB, and I hope to see you around more!

Leave a Reply

