I feel stranded without internet!

I wouldn’t say that I’m addicted to the internet, but it’s pretty darn important to me. I need it for my work, to talk to my fiancé (I’m in a long distance relationship), to check up on book-related things, to keep in touch with my friends, to read posts by people I follow… I’m fine with taking some time off to rest and relax, but I really don’t like it when I’m forced to stay away for a few days.

On Thursday I went on a trip with my family to the countryside where they do not have internet and the phone signal is dreadful. The most I could do was text and check my email (and I did manage to send out a single tweet!), and even that wasn’t very easy. =[

Now I’m back home and I’m feeling a bit behind. I’ve received a number of comments (I’ll reply soon!), my followers have written a number of posts (I will look at them in a bit), the sites I regularly check have been updated, there are several webcomics to catch up on… I even got a new review!  and I’m pretty sure I’m still forgetting something. It’s kinda overwhelming, and I don’t know where to even start!

Well… I admit that my situation wasn’t as dramatic, but hey, I lasted longer!
(Source: http://www.happletea.com)

Usually I’ll take advantage of an internet downtime by reading, but I ended up with a stomach bug and I only had a terrible book to keep me company. I felt like I was being force-fed some poison. The electricity was pretty terrible too so I couldn’t pass off time by watching TV, and I didn’t have my laptop with me so I couldn’t write or play games or anything. I won’t say I was completely miserable, I did have some fun, but it felt like my happiness wouldn’t be complete without internet!

I always end up fretting when the internet is down. For some reason, I just can’t seem to focus on the task at hand if I know that I’ve been cut off from the worldwide web, and my time is mostly consumed by checking to see if the internet is back. Unfortunately, most of the time it is not. =[

It just feels so good to be back home where there is working internet! I’m already less edgy than I was during the weekend. Now I’m going to go spend the next couple of hours trying to catch up on everything (though I have a feeling it will take more than that!).

How did you spend your weekend? Did you have internet? Do you think I missed something important? What do you do when you don’t have any internet?

 

28 thoughts on “I feel stranded without internet!

  1. There was a problem wite wouldn’t let me. So i had to wait for him, his girlfriend and the other guy to leave to do it. (They hardly ever left!) I ended up watching the first six Harry Potter films and/or playing on my DS, a lot.

    He moved out about a month before me and another of the guys, and cancelled the internet. Ended up getting my remaining housemate to leave his PS3 in the living room, so we could rent a few films and games from Blockbusters. To this day, I have no idea how I survived.

      • I have no idea what happened to half that coment…Sorry!

        I meant to say there was a problem with my internet, where it just disconnected and I’d have to reset the router to let me back on, but my housemate didn’t like me ‘messing with the internet’.

        My laptop just likes to mess up on me sometimes.

        • Ahhh, that makes more sense, thank you! And hey, at least you had something entertaining to keep you company. I would take the Harry Potter movies over the book I had to read any day!

  2. I know what you mean, I forgot my phone the other day and felt a bit naked the whole day! And I don’t even call/text/email that much. It’s just comforting to know that I can if I want to.

    • I don’t use my phone for much either, but I would hate to go anywhere without it! I always make sure the battery’s fully charged before I go out anywhere too, haha.

  3. Coincidentally, my internet was down most of the weekend as well! And I know how annoying it is when you’re in a long distance relationship with no internet. Not good at all!

    • Aww, that sucks. D= It’s such a relief when it’s back up, isn’t it? And it’s pretty terrible! Ultimately you get too tired of texting too and you just want to type away at the keyboard. =[

  4. I’m in my early 30′s, but I grew up without the internet. I was 18 when I first had access to it, so I do remember life before the internet. Although I’ve grown used to it to check email, check WP, and catch up on the news daily, it doesn’t devastate me when I’m not around it. I also don’t have a data plan for my phone (this is by choice) so I purposely don’t get too dependent on having internet near me 24/7.

    However, like one of your commenters above, I do feel a bit out of it if I forget my phone at home, because having that phone nearby does feel like a lifeline if something goes wrong and you need help.

    • I think you’re lucky not being too dependent on the internet. I wish I wasn’t, but unfortunately I’d feel completely lost without it. Once you become reliant on something it’s difficult to cut yourself off!

      And I feel the same way. It’s difficult to get anywhere without phones these days.

  5. I am certainly addicted to my internet. I do occasionally disappear “off the grid” and it’s tough. I find myself driving in to coffee shops with wi-fi just to get a fix! If I do manage to go for a few days without the computer access I actually find myself feeling less stressed, my neck and back are generally not as tight and I don’t have those odd aches in my hands from too much typing. :) I think I move around more just to keep busy and keep my mind off what I might be missing.

    • I do think it’s good to step back for a bit, and I did feel relaxed physically during the weekend, but mental relaxation could not be achieved! I wanted my internet fix too, haha.

  6. Woo hoo! I was just able to ‘like’ your post – I’ve been without my ‘like’ for about a month now but I just updated my browser to find it actually works ;)

    I’m lost without my access to the outside world. It sounds like your weekend must have been pretty miserable (I would have been, if it were me). I’m so glad you’re back now :D

    • Yay! That’s good to hear. Good to hear that it was only the browser’s fault and not anything worse.
      It was pretty distressing, but thankfully it’s over now. I’m glad to be back too. =D

  7. When I am without internet (and worse, without a computer at all) I go crazy. It’s different when the power is out and nothing is working because then it is a little nice without it. However, when my computer crashes or my internet won’t load I can’t deal. This actually happened to me a few weeks ago. Papa said, “I guess you better pray…Who’s the patron saint of computers?” And I replied, “Bill Gates?”

    • I’m the same way! If my power is out I don’t mind as much, but I get so frustrated when either the computer or internet fail. And I bet Bill Gates never has to deal with ordinary computer problems like us. =[

  8. I work at home, and for many years, my business was booming, and all of my orders came over the internet. I was in a panic whenever I wasn’t able to get online. Now, I’m not so freaked out, but I definitely hate the feeling when I’m “disconnected.” But I did spend most of the weekend away from the internet giving my brain a break. :-)

    • I can imagine why you would panic! I need internet in my work because of all the research it involves, and without it I’m lost. I hate feeling disconnected too, especially it renders me unable to talk to Daniel. =[

  9. I’d go nuts without internet–stark-raving, straitjacket wearing, rubber room-residing nuts…and I’m not even an internet junkie. I just need to know it’s there when I want it.

  10. I freely admit that I’m addicted to the internet. I can’t just use it a little bit. If I use it, it’s on the whole day. If I don’t use it – like when I’m travelling – I cannot use it at all, otherwise I’ll obsess about it the whole time. A bit like you said, busy checking if it’s on. Isn’t it terrible? How did we survive before there was internet?!? :)

    • I actually have no idea how we survived before the internet was invented. I think there was something known as the great outdoors, but I really can’t be sure, haha.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

