NaNoWriMo in 3.. 2.. 1!

It’s almost time for the most anticipated writing event. Midnight is less than 20 minutes away for me, and I’m getting a liiiitle bit antsy here. I’ve done everything I need to do, finished all my chores, drank my coffee, got my chocolate ready, got my blank Word document open, my fingers poised, thinking about my first line… waitaminute. Do I have a first line? Oh god I do NOT have a first line.

I suppose that’s what I get for being a pantser. Unlike many people I know, I’ve done very little planning. This is not out of laziness or procrastination on my part; I simply can’t write according to a definite plan, and I can’t plot in advance because I end up feeling bored with the story before even write it. I just have my title (Penny For Your Dreams), my basic plot, my main character… ack, I just realised my main character doesn’t have a last name yet. Okay, so I may be a little under-prepared, haha.

This is basically me! With the addition of chocolate, of course. (Source: http://comixtalk.com)

I’m excited about this. Last year’s NaNo was awful because I couldn’t juggle between work and writing, but I’ve got the hang of it now and I have a plot that I’ve been itching to write. So this should be good, right? I’ve got work tomorrow, but I figured I could write a bit and get myself a head start. The weekend’s coming soon, so I can catch up on any lost sleep then!

(Yay! I now have a last name. My character is called Penny Leighton. Any resemblance to actual names, events… well, you know the drill.)

I’ve promised myself that I won’t allow NaNo to be a source of stress this year. I just want to have a good time, and even though I will obviously try my best to get to the finish line, I won’t be upset if I lose. Well. I won’t be too upset. I hope. I also figure it’ll be more fun since this is the first year I’ve done NaNo while also blogging at the same time. I look forward to seeing how everyone else progresses! :D

Are you prepared for NaNo? When do you start? Do you have a first line? On that note, I have now figured out mine!

“Penny Leighton knew she had to destroy everything.”

35 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo in 3.. 2.. 1!

  1. Great first line, Zen! And I like your character’s surname. Susan Hunter is still with me, and she better not disappoint me this month. I am not ready. I have a few notes and some of the research done, so I don’t have to do it in the middle of the book, but I don’t have the house cleaned up as much as I wanted. I definitely don’t have enough chocolate yet. I have to work out the music, too – high energy or Christmas to go with my Christmas theme? Still two hours to go for me, but I’m not starting until tomorrow around noon.

    • Thanks, Maddie! =D I’m sure Susan will not disappoint you, and I wish you luck too. And if you’re starting around noon, then you still have time to get all these things done and stock up on chocolate. ;)

  2. LOVE the first line! Now I’m on tenterhooks to know what it’s all about. I started at two minutes past midnight (I know, I know, two minutes wasted, what was I thinking?) and now it’s the morning of the 1st and I’m already more than a 1000 words up… What a great feeling!
    I started without a first line as well and just typed the first thing that came into my mind, but I think it’s going to turn out quite a good entry point. That’s what panic does for you. :)

    • Yay, I’m glad you like it. =D And 1000 is a good start. I managed to write 640 words before suddenly sleep hit me, but I’m going to make up for it after work.
      And I know what you mean. I always seem to get better results when I’m feeling panicky.

  3. I work very much like you ha! I generally don’t have outlines, just vague ideas of what I would like to happen at points throughout the story. Sometimes the characters stick to it. ;)

    And that’s an awesome first line! Very grabbing. :D I was still doing research on lunch today at work for mine, but hoping everything just comes together in the end!

    Good luck to you!! And have fun! ^^

    • Same here! =D I only have scenes, but no chronological events. I think it makes writing more exciting, don’t you?
      And I’m glad you think so! I did some research yesterday as well. My story is about dreams and I needn’t to get my facts straight.
      Good luck to you too! I hope you did well on your first day. =]

  4. Even thought I signed up, I don’t feel as stressed about it as I thought I should. I already had the idea for what I wanted to write about and have one chapter down. I figure as long as I make progress on my idea, then I’ve achieved my goal. Now I just need to start logging into the nano site to update my word count.

Leave a Reply

