Fueling excitement with sugar.

My default modes during the last couple of week have ranged between excited, stressed, busy and just plain out frazzled. I’ve also gone through short bouts of total confusion, but those generally tend to come up after I’ve fallen victim to that evil, unproductive thing known as sleep.

Mostly, however, I have been excited. It bears repeating, but I am really excited that I will finally be able to reveal the video game I’ve been working on next week. So many things have happened already, and every time a character of mine transforms into lines and colours instead of mere images in my head, my excitement levels rise to dangerous levels. There’s also the fact that I am finally replacing my four-year-old laptop with a cool new laptop in the next few days.

How do I deal with excitement? With sugar. Incidentally, this is a bad way to go about it because I have consumed a lot of sugar this week and today I feel like a zombie on auto-pilot. Hopefully that wears out before tomorrow.

As is customary, I will now attempt to make you jealous with pictures of my delicious food share with you some of the things I ate this week!

Lindt

This is halfway empty now. I call this holding back.

I suffered a disappointment on Wednesday and decided to offset that with a little treat. Only I ended up splurging a little and bought a whole box of Lindt’s assorted chocolates. Worth every penny. They are totally delicious.  I spent a few minutes staring at how pretty they all looked before even attempting to try one!

During the weekend I went to one of my favourite hangouts with my sister – I have mentioned it several times in the past –  and we treated ourselves to a number of desserts.

We started with a delicious Apple Crumble cake and an absolutely swoon-worthy chocolate and caramel pie. It was the first thing we polished off the plate, just the right balance between semi-bitter chocolate and sweet caramel. My mouth waters just thinking about it.

Doesn't that look absolutely yummy? I'm not usually one for fruity cakes, but this one was great!

Doesn’t that look absolutely yummy? I’m not usually one for fruity cakes, but this one was great!

Good things come in threes, right? (I don’t know if that’s true. I may have just made that up)

Just goes to show, even something that looks so simple can be so delicious.

Just goes to show, even something that looks so simple can be so delicious.

So of course we had another thing to eat, something cool to go with the awful summer heat. I have had Tiramisu before, but never Tiramisu ice-cream cake. And now that I have, I don’t think a regular Tiramisu will ever sate me the way this one did.

But even that was not enough! I tell you, once I’m on a sugar binge it would take a lot to stop me. The fourth treat was slightly different though, because it’s something I always see but never attempt to try – frozen yoghurt. Have you ever tried it before? I once tried the regular vanilla flavour and swore off it for good. But yesterday I mustered up enough courage and… viola!

frozen yoghurt I didn’t think I would like it, but it was quite yummy! A swirl of chocolate hazelnut and mango flavours, with Nutella and nuts and crisps for toppings. More or less like ice-cream, with a little hint of yoghurt flavour. It was just the vanilla that did not agree with me. Now I’m annoyed at that friend who introduced me to frozen yoghurt through the vanilla flavour. I’ve missed out on it for so long. =[

And because a good week is never complete without some new book, I picked up two! The Cuckoo’s Calling is something I’ve been wanting to read since I learned that JKR wrote it under a pseudonym, and The Golem and the Jinni is one I’ve been trying to hunt down for so long. Success, I say!

Such pretty covers.

Such pretty covers.

And that was my week. I feel a crash coming along, so I should probably refuel myself with a little more sugar. What have you been excited about recently? Have you had any sugar yourself? Bought any new books? :)

29 thoughts on “Fueling excitement with sugar.

  1. Look at all the chocolate-y goodness! I can’t believe you’ve never had frozen yogurt before. I usually get chocolate flavor with strawberries, blackberries and grapes. I have never seen anything like that one before, though, so I’m jealous. :)

    • I had a bad experience with the vanilla flavour! It was too sour for my liking. :( That sounds like a delicious combination! I will have to experiment now. =D

  2. Glad to see I’m not the only one who’s splurged on some naughty delights lately. Friday night, my husband texted me to see if I wanted an ice cream treat since he was getting the boys one. I told him just a mini blizzard (from the Dairy Queen). He came home with a medium sized one instead (and likely 600 extra calories). And yet I ate it. Very, very naughty.

    I read The Cuckoo’s Calling recently. Really liked it, but beware, there is a LOT of description and it got a bit tedious at times. But a great story with strong characters.

    • Well that’s sweet of him! And hey, we deserve to throw caution to the wind every once in a while. ;)

      JKR’s always been pretty good with characterization. I will watch out for those descriptions, but I’m really looking forward to sinking my teeth into what I’ve heard was a good mystery!

  3. Just what I needed. (Sarcasm intended)
    I have been craving for sugar from what the past month? And then you post pictures of your amazing delights. Great, now I feel like putting my hand into the laptop screen and just pulling out one of those desserts.
    Keeping my cravings aside, I’m happy you chose this way of fueling your excitement. Its the best.

  4. I cannot wait for the ‘sharing is caring’ app to be installed on WordPress, where we will be able to physically interact with images and, in the case of chocolate items and alike, grab them right out from the screen.
    With your love of all things chocolate ma’am, I feel the need to ask (do not feel obliged to answer ma’am if this question is too personal), but are you ever concerned about chocolate causing pimples? I know many argue that such is a complete fabrication, but often when I have pigged out on chocolate I suddenly gain a new addition to my facial features.
    This was a very interesting post Zen! Oh, and please excuse me if I do not thank you for all those images of sweet goodies. Now I’m hungry!

    • Haha, that would be awesome. I think I would abuse that app. Probably.

      Nope! That is never a concern of mine. Chocolate has never really given me any pimples, and I do think it’s a sort of an urban myth really. Maybe you could try a darker kind of chocolate and see if it does the same thing?

      Thank you! And you’re excused, of course. I fully understand. ;)

  5. I love reading about these sugar and book binges you have, Zen. :-) I don’t have a lot of time for blogs yet but I did read about the game you’re writing for and looked at the website; very nice. So glad things are going well for you.

  6. I’m only just catching up with my blog reading and was delighted to find one of yours on chocolate as you always make me laugh with your love of chocolate! I love Lindt chocolate too. I just returned from Switzerland visiting family so ate delicious chocolate as you can imagine. Almost too much of it in fact!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

