On Writing Short Stories with Devin Berglund

Today I’m giving the floor to my friend and fellow blogger, Devin Berglund, who will be talking about short stories and the proper way to go about them! Do read on and check out her website!

* * *

Do you want to write a short story?

Did I just hear you say, yes?

Yay!!

I am so excited. This is going to be an exciting time for you.

There are three important parts of your short story.

  1. Character
  2. Conflict
  3. Setting

Usually, writers only focus on one character while writing short stories, because it is hard for readers to follow switches between character’s point of views. It can get tricky.

For example we will use Little Red Riding Hood. Who doesn’t love this story?

  1. Character – Little Red
  2. Conflict- While in the forest, Little Red comes upon a wolf who wants to eat her. She tells him where she is going.
  3. Setting- Grandma’s house

You can see the outcome pretty easily here, when you list the story out like this.

How Long Is A Short Story?

Writing short stories can be fun, but it can also be hard at times, because you have to tell a good story in fewer words than you would in a novel or novella.

6-Word-Story -

“For Sale: Baby shoes. Never Worn.” – Attributed to Ernest Hemingway

Micro fiction : up to 100 words

Flash Fiction : up to 1,000 words usually.

Short Story : up to 8,000 or so words.


But, I don’t know what to write about?

This happens to everyone, once in a while.

There are many ways to get inspiration to write a short story. I want to share with you something that I do when I need inspiration to write stories. Long and short.

Pictures.

Illustrations.

Photography.

I am greatly inspired by photos.

But, who isn’t… right?

I am going to walk you through the process I take to write a short story, while grabbing inspiration from photos and pictures.

Characters

1.) Go find an inspiring picture or illustration of a person, animal, robot, or unicorn. It can be anything.

Now, you have your character. What is their story.

For example, I chose the photo above with the young boy and the dragon.

I then ask myself some questions:

•”Who is this young boy?”
•”What kind of world does he live in?”
•”What is the relationship between humans and dragons in this world?”

It’s crazy a picture can spark so many questions.

258px-Enchanted_Queen_Narissa_01

Enchanted – Disney Movie

Conflict

Every story must have conflict of some sort.

Just like in Little Red Riding Hood, when the wolf kills Red’s grandma and tries tricking Red.

2.) Find a photo or illustration that shows conflict.

I chose the picture above, because I wanted there to be an evil ruler and the pic fit perfectly! You will now use the “Character” & “Conflict” photos that you picked out, together.

•”What is the conflict?”
•”Is there a dictator over the land?”
•”Is she making dragons attack the people of the villages?”

Photo Credit :

Photo Credit : DailyArtFix

Setting

3.) Find a photo or illustration that shows the setting you want to create.

Now, put all three of the pictures you chose side by side.

•”What is the story? Who is the character you are going to focus on?”
•”And what is the conflict?”
•”What does the world look like?”

Looking at creative photography always helps me get out of the “I don’t know what to write about” rut. There are stories all around us, we just need to find them and tell them. The World needs our stories… our words. Words and stories bring hope to many people.

Have you ever done this when you were writing a short story? What have you found to help you when writing short?

548996_10151594081816889_2018110142_n

****

My name is Devin Berglund.

I am a writer, dreamer, wanderer & all-time enjoyer of life. I love crafting stories that change lives. I recently finished my first book The Mason of Hearts. It is the first in a Fantasy Adventure trilogy. I am also working toward agent representation.

I’ve always been a lover of fairytales. I believed they were real when I was little… and I still do.

REAL COVER Hope For Another Day Cover1

Hope For Another Day, Blog Tour

What people are saying:

A rewarding fable about hope’s unexpected resurrection when it seems all hope is gone.” – Erin Healy

Wow! With “Hope for Another Day,” Devin Berglund has masterfully crafted a story as enchanting as the most captivating fairy tale. It’s a story you won’t soon forget or ever want to.” -Robert Liparulo

Book Blurb:
After losing her husband to a car accident, Silvia yearns for the normal life she once had and the love she lost. One night, her life is turned upside down when she discovers a mysterious secret in the forest.

This is a twist on the fairytales we were told while we were young. It’s a story about fate, loss, and giving life a second chance.

Troll Trivia 3

Subscribe to www.devinberglund.com to get my urban fantasy short story, Hope For Another Day for free.

Be sure to enter the Rafflecoptor Contest!

Click to enter the contest!

Click to enter the contest!

Join the Hope For Another Day blog tour tomorrow over here!

5 thoughts on “On Writing Short Stories with Devin Berglund

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

