Happiness in a Post

This week was a bit of a hectic one, but there are always things that can make it better. Drawing inspiration from Rebecca Stibrany’s post, here’s a list of things that make me happy, in no particular order!

1. Chocolate

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

Glorious, glorious chocolate.
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Even a person who’s barely familiar with me will know that chocolate is my absolute favourite thing in the world. If I’m having a stressful day, feeling upset or sick, lacking inspiration, bored, sleep-deprived, I can simply eat chocolate and feel instantly better.

2. Books

Stack of books in Gould's Book Arcade, Newtown...

A pile like that makes me feel so happy!
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)]

I guess it’s no surprise that I like books. Actually, I’ve never met a writer who isn’t completely obsessed with books. The glossy covers, the texture and smell of the paper, the excitement that comes after purchasing a new book… nothing can beat that.

3. Nutella

Deutsch: Ein Glas Nutella-Nussnougatcreme

Food fit for royalty. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I still feel surprised whenever someone tells me that they don’t know what Nutella is, then I mourn their lost childhood. Nutella has to be the best chocolate-hazelnut spread in existence. It goes well with almost everything sweet. I spread it on cake, cookies, peanut butter, bread, pancakes, cupcakes, graham crackers… and I eat it straight from the jar, too. Yum!

4. Sitcoms

How I Met Your Mother

How I Met Your Mother (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I can be amused quite easily. Comedies, especially sitcoms, have me laughing all throughout, and I feel genuinely happy after they’re over. Some of my favourite sitcoms include How I Met Your Mother, Scrubs, Friends, 30 Rock and The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

5. Ice-cream

Raw Chocolate Winter Ice Cream

I would go for ice-cream now if I didn’t have a cold! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now that summer’s finally here, I can indulge in one of my favourite treats as much as I want! Not that I wasn’t indulging during winter; there’s a McDonald’s right next to my place, and I’ve been stopping there to get their famous McFlurry way too often.

6. Iced Tea

A Glass of iced tea.

So good during hot summer days.Ā  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love tea, but lately I’ve been addicted to iced tea, specifically Lipton’s peach and pear flavoured green tea. It’s sweet and refreshing, and yet incredibly low in calories (hey I gotta watch what I eat sometimes). It tastes best after you’ve stuck it in the freezer for like an hour or so.

7. Stationery

Some of my own stationery! Yes, that is indeed a quill.

Even though I tend to use the computer for writing, I just can’t resist beautiful stationery, especially notebooks. I have such a weak spot for notebooks, and the people around me help feed my excitement for them. These three notebooks (and the pen and quill incidentally) are all gifts, haha.

8. Clean Linen

Cream Linen Lavender Sachets

Cream Linen Lavender Sachets (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you know the feeling when you crawl into bed and find that someone has replaced your sheets with crisp, clean sheets heavy with the smell of fabric softener? Do you know what it’s called? Bliss. Pure bliss. Seriously, it’s one of the best feelings in the world.

9. Stuffed Toys

These are some of my stuffed toys! Do you notice my affinity for bunnies? Haha.

Even though I’m 23 years old now, I still adore my stuffed toys, and each one of these has a special meaning behind it. The bunny with the tan fur at the back is the main character in the novel I’m currently working on, The Muse Bunny. His name is Paddington, and he’s pretty cuddly!

10. Writing

Every time I look at my book, I feel exceptionally pleased with myself.

Ever since I was a little girl, writing has been one of my favourite thing to do. When other kids were playing or going out with their parents, I would sit at home and write, and I never had a shortage of ideas. Creating stories and characters has always made me feel in my element, and I was always happy doing it… even if sometimes it’s way too troublesome.

11. Greeting Cards

Greeting cards on display at retail.

Don’t they look lovely? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have a certain unexplainable obsession with greeting cards. Over the years I’ve collected and stored every single card I’ve ever received, and every once in a while I like to take them out and read them. I also love giving people cards; I feel happy when I find a card that matches the personality of a person or has a message that conveys exactly what I wish to say.

12. Speculoos

These are to die for! (Photo credit: Gourmet Adventures)

I always liked Lotus’ caramelized biscuits, but recently I came across this little gem – caramelized biscuits coated with Belgian chocolate. Drooling yet? I don’t blame you. These are probably the best biscuits you’ll ever taste, better even that Oreos. Yes, I said it; they’re better than Oreos!

13.Cats

A six-week old kitten.

So cute!
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always liked cats. I love how sleek they look and how cute their faces are. I love how they like to cuddle, and when they purr when you scratch them or rub their belly. I love how playful they are. Sadly my mother always hated cats, and I was never allowed to have one. But soon, definitely. Very soon.

14. Potato Chips

Snack food made from corn formed into hollow, ...

Anyone remember Bugles?Ā  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While I love chocolate, sometimes nothing satisfies the craving for salty things better than chips. They’re the perfect snack, and you get them in so many flavours too. Recently I rediscovered two of my all-time favourites, Bugles and Quavers, so that made me happy. =]

15. Positive Reviews

Stars that glow every time

Yay five-star reviews!
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m pretty sure every writer out there feels ecstatic when they receive a positive review, and I’m no different. I’ve been fortunate enough to receive several positive reviews, and the feeling of happiness was always the same with every single one, if not more.

16. Kinder

Deutsch: Kinder Schokolade von Ferrero Italian...

My favourite childhood chocolate.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ah, Kinder. This is a treat I could indulge in no matter how old I am, even though it’s something that targets kids mainly (I mean… Kinder means children in German). It’s just the right mix of milk chocolate and white chocolate. Of course, Kinder has other products, namely Kinder Bueno and Kinder Surprise (a chocolate egg in which you find toys), and they’re all equally great.

17. Weekends!

Ever since I started working full-time, I’ve started appreciating weekends quite a lot. The feeling during the last hours of your shift on Friday, knowing that you’ll be free in a bit, knowing you can sleep in tomorrow… it’s just great, especially when you have fun things planned! Tomorrow I’m going out with a friend to see Dark Shadows; I’m looking forward to it! =D

Well, that was my list. Of course there are more, but these are just some things off the top of my head. What are some things that make you happy? Is chocolate one of them? Is it bad that many items on my list involve food?

Have a good weekend! =]

25 thoughts on “Happiness in a Post

  1. Rebecca Stibrany says:

    The things you love are awesome, so many of them could have been on my list! Happy Friday, have a great weekend!

  2. inkspeare says:

    Some of my favorites as well – 1-11, 13-15, and 17, I have not been able to taste the Kinder and Speculoos, but they surely look delicious šŸ™‚

    • Well, neither actually. I do use British English, but I’m not British. But I haven’t seen this flavour on the internet much, so maybe it’s just available where I am.
      Thank you for your comment! =]

  3. junemary26 says:

    Woo-hoo! I’m chocoholic too.
    Book is my favourite thing.
    I do enjoy sitcom a lot. Always brighten up my day.
    I do love ice cream.
    Almost every day I drink iced tea – my all time favourite drinks. šŸ˜‰
    I still keep my stuffed toys from childhood, and I still literally jumping and being ‘hysterical’ when I see cute ones at the store. Oh well…I’m kid inside. Haha. ;p
    How I love potato chips. Can’t live without it. Hehe. JK!
    Well, I think everybody loves weekend. Haha.
    And I love your blog. Cheers! šŸ™‚

    • Chocoholics unite! I’m starting to drink iced tea a lot these days too. I currently need my fix but I don’t have any. I lost my childhood stuffed toys, but I’m starting a new collection now, haha.

      Thank you for your comment! =D

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

