I have no sense of direction.

So I have this problem… it’s quite ridiculous really, and people tend to tease me when I tell them about it.

I can’t tell my left from my right. No joke, I’m seriously terrible at it. I keep mixing up the words themselves, and when I have to decide where each side is I have to hold up an imaginary pen to remember the directions. It’s even worse when someone’s facing me and I have to tell them the directions from their point of view.

Thinking about it, I have no sense of direction when writing either; I don’t know what I’m going to write until I write it… but anyway, that’s a different story.

My lack of bearings has put me in awkward situations. For example, if I’m in a cab and the driver asks me which direction he should go, I have to resort to pointing because I’m unable to think fast and remember my left from my right. Or if I’m asked to point out something on a paper or an image, and I can’t tell what’s left from right. it’s embarrassing to say the least.

You’ll be surprised to know that I actually have a driving license. How I managed to pass my driving test and actually make my instructor believe what I’m doing is beyond me. But rest assured that I’m too scared to drive, so it’ll be a while before I sit behind a wheel and run someone over… though, between my attempts at strangling the wheel (as my instructor put it) I almost did while in driving school, run someone over that is. Ironically it was because I was looking in the wrong direction.

Uhm.

So! Is there any simple thing that you’re supposed to know but are clueless about? Is anyone’s sense of direction as terrible as mine?

13 thoughts on “I have no sense of direction.

  1. Artemis says:

    For me, all things considered, it’s that I never actually got the whole noun/verb/adjective/et all thing down. That’s stuff I should know, all things considered, but I never actually learned that stuff in school. When it comes to writing and editing I can make things work, but if you ask me which word is which, I’ll have no idea what to tell you.

    • I don’t know all these stuff either. xD I can tell you some basic things, but go into participles, gerunds and whatnot and you’ve lost me. =x

  2. Hold your hands up, palms out, thumbs sticking out. Your left hand is an L. L is for left!

    This may or may not help you, but someone told me it was useful πŸ™‚

    • Hey, that’s a neat trick! Though I think it’d be awkward to apply it in front of people. Unless I can disguise it as a stretch…

  3. I can drive, but that’s just because I don’t need to use the words ‘left’ and ‘right’ when I drive. If I’m driving someone home and they tell me the way, I ask them right from the beginning to not just say: “Turn right here.”, but to actually point in the direction they want me to go. So you’re not alone… πŸ™‚

  4. Are you perchance a lefty? I am and I struggle with this too. I’ve thought about it and I think for me it’s related to having my left hand be my dominant hand, I think from my left hands perspective, while the world around me is oriented on a right hand perspective. Right is dominant, but in my brain left is, and that gets confusing.

    Or maybe I just suck at quick directional thinking. πŸ™‚

    • Nope! I’m right-handed, thankfully. I think I’d have even more trouble with directions if I were a lefty, haha.

      Thank you for the comment!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

