I’ll just wait for the paperback to come out.

When a movie comes out, many people don’t bother watching it in theatres and instead opt to go for the DVD, saying, “I’ll just wait for the DVD to come out”, either because it’s not “theatre-material” or because they want to watch it, but are not so excited about it to the extent that they’d buy tickets for it. I’m more or less the same way with books.

Many books, when first published, come out in hardcover form, or else in large paperback form, and as we all know, these are generally more expensive than regular paperbacks/pocketbooks. I’m not a cheap person, and I spend a lot of money on books every month, but my logic is that with the money I spend to buy a single hardcover, I can probably buy 2 or 3 paperbacks.

For example, I’ve been hearing a lot about The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, but I’ve been reluctant about buying it because a) it has always been in large paperback or hardcover, and b) I’ve never read anything by Erin Morgenstern; I wasn’t ready to shell out money on her just yet. Yesterday, however, I came across the pocketbook version and I was all, “Yes! Finally!” and bought it without a moment’s hesitation. I also bought the paperback version of The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, which was placed right next to its hardcover version… not a very good strategic move, because anyone could see that the two were exactly the same, with a considerable difference in price. There’s another book I’ve been wanting to read but I’m holding out until I get the paperback version – Stephen King’s 11/22/63. The hardcover is not cheap, and I’m always tentative when it comes to Stephen King books.

The only books I’ve ever bought in hardcover form were the Harry Potter books, because, like everyone else, I could not wait to read them, and I was not about to wait months before I could pick up a copy. Oh, and there was another book titled The Floating Islands, but I actually didn’t realise I was ordering a hardcover, haha.

All seven books in the Harry Potter series in ...

The hardcover Harry Potter books do look nifty, though I always take the jacket off when reading. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

These days more people are leaning towards ebooks (cheaper, easy to store, etc), but I don’t think I’ll be making that transition. There’s a certain appeal to the cool gadgets and being able to save as many books as you want, but I will never get over that awesome feeling of holding an actual book between my hands, the quiet rustle of paper… nothing compares. I don’t dislike ebooks, and I do read them occasionally, but paperbacks will always come first.

<shameless plug> Though speaking of ebooks, I’m giving away three copies of Puppet Parade here in case you missed it. You still have until Tuesday to enter! </shameless plug>

Anyway, what do you readers prefer? Do you pick out paperbacks or hardcovers? Also, am I the only one who takes font size into consideration when purchasing books? I absolutely don’t like large fonts or books where lines are too spaced out.

15 thoughts on “I’ll just wait for the paperback to come out.

    • I’m glad someone else doesn’t like large fonts; they really turn me off! Ah, a collection of hardcover books – that’s really nice. =D

  1. I’m like you, I’d much prefer a paperback book with a normal font size, but I received an e-reader for Mother’s day and I had already been buying e-books for my kindle app on my laptop, because I can afford more books that way, but using either of these is just not the same, there’s just something comforting about holding a paperback book in your hands, .

  2. Some books I want in hardcover, some in paperback, and some an ebook is fine. I’ve read some things on my Kindle that I ended up wanting in paperback or hardcover. I don’t think paper books will disappear in my lifetime.

    • I admit I would love to own a Kindle. Unfortunately it’s not available in my country. =[ Hardcovers are most definitely nice, but I’m partial to paperbacks!

  3. I actually prefer e-books because I don’t have to hold the computer/tablet/e-reader. Laziness ftw! On the other hand, though, it’s more soothing on the eyes to read on paper. OH, ALSO, when reading books, you can tell how far through the book you are by looking at where your bookmark is, which is pretty cool, and something you can’t do with an e-book.

    Hardback books’ sleeves are annoying.

    I don’t care about font size and spacing. “Just let me read, ffs…” y’know?

    • I’m confused… do you mean you like to read e-books on the computer instead of an e-reader? xD Paper is definitely more soothing on the eyes, but e-readers do have the option to bookmark your books!
      And I agree that sleeves are annoying; I usually put them aside when reading.

  4. Anonymous says:

    The type and format of a book, for me, depends on the book. If it is a classic or a title I will read frequently in the future I prefer hardbacks because they stand up better to the wear and tear of multiple readings. Otherwise paperback is my preference because of cost. I can almost tell the age of a person by their preference for books without larger fonts. The older you get the easier the large font is on the eyes. Regarding e-books, i wish I had one available last summer. My weeks-long cross-country road trip last year would have been simpler without taking the box of books I hauled across and back again.I have friends who have taken to living in a motorhome (converted Greyhound) and travel a lot. They reduced their entire library to e-readers, their music to IPods and their videos to portable hard drives. Thousands of titles in a foot of shelf space!

    • You do make a good point; the only titles I have in hardcover are Harry Potter books, and I do read those quite often. They’d be in shambles now if they were paperbacks. And that’s why I’d like to have an e-reader – it really does save a lot of space, and I’m already running low on it.

      Thank you for the comment!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

