Coming to a Bookshelf Near You: Penny For Your Dreams

I have been terrible at posting and reading blogs lately, and I wish I could tell you it’s because I’m having the Blog? What Blog? syndrome usually associated with NaNoWriMo, but it’s not. Though… more on that later. The latest WP Daily Prompt suggested writing the summary of the book you’ve always wanted to write, and I thought this was as good a chance as any to talk about the novel that I should be writing. With less than ten days to go, I doubt I’ll get to write 50,000 words this month, but I will most definitely finish this novel sooner or later.

Penny For Your Dreams

In a world where dreams have been wiped out in a chemical outbreak, Penny is one of the few left who are able to control their own dreams. She leads a fairly ordinary life until her recruitment by Dream Weavers, an international organization founded to help people dream.

Through her job, Penny is given the chance to wander and meet other Weavers, confronting her fears in the Nightmare Office, avoiding the perverts in the Naughty Office and sneaking off to the Romance Office to feed amorous dreams into the head of Charles, her sweet but socially awkward neighbor.

But then the nightmare records start showing an unusual activity involving wars with another nation and civilians start hallucinating. Someone is suspected of treason, and fingers are immediately pointed to the operator of the Nightmare Office, but Penny knows there’s more to this than meets the eye.

And now a couple of excerpts:

Matt threw up his hands. “James, this was a bad idea. Let’s just get out of here. She obviously isn’t a good candidate, and I’m sorry I wasted your time.”

Penny scowled. “I’m beginning to dislike your attitude, mister, and if you don’t watch your mouth, I’m going to do something you won’t like.”

Matt smirked. “You couldn’t do anything if you tried.”

Setting her drink aside, Penny held Matt firmly in her gaze, willing him to shrink into the size of the bug so she could squish him with her foot, but Matt remained standing there, hands clasped behind his back and a gloating expression on his face. She closed her eyes, tried to regain her focus and stared at him again, but nothing happened. She grinned sheepishly.

“I’m just having an off day here. This normally never happens.”

James shook his head. “The reason you can’t alter Matt is because he is not part of your dream. He’s a real person, and your manipulation is only limited to dream sequences.”

~*~*~

“Hey, Valentine, what’s up?”
“Weddings.”
“Weddings?”
“Today’s theme will be weddings gone bad.”
“Are you upset about something?”
“No.”

– – –

There you have it. My current “baby.” 😀 Tell me about your stories too?

26 thoughts on “Coming to a Bookshelf Near You: Penny For Your Dreams

    • Thank you! =D Well, I’m enjoying it, but sadly I have not had time to write. =[ I’m hoping to remedy that this weekend, but I doubt I’ll be able to get to 50k in just a few days, haha.
      How are you doing on your NaNo?

      • You never know! Anything’s possible if you set your mind to it. I keep telling myself that, because to win, I’d have to write more than 40k in the next week. I know some people manage to do that in one day, but I have grave doubts about being able to pull those kind of numbers. But I’ll try!!!

        • Yeah, I’ve seen some people write a lot in quite a short time. To win I’d have to write at least 4750 words per day. That’s a bit manageable… I think, haha. Good luck to you! I hope you can make it. =D

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

