“You’ll have a tale or two to tell when you come back…”

the hobbit

I watched the Hobbit this weekend. To say I loved it would be an understatement. The movie invoked a lot of emotion within me and I reacted with it throughout the 2 hours and 49 minutes. I laughed, I tensed up, I cried, I sat on the edge of my seat, I got goosebumps, I wrinkled my nose in disgust, I oohed and ahhed… I was simply taken with it.

I was also a little bit envious. Among all the books I read, I’ve encountered a number of stories that were so good I wished I had thought of them first. Though at the same time I was left a bit torn. To write such a story would be wonderful, but to hungrily devour it from cover to cover is also an incredible experience. The Hobbit is one of these stories. While not a big fan of Tolkien’s writing, I can appreciate the fact that The Hobbit is a great tale. I suppose that can be attributed to Peter Jackson and his movie magic, but that’s a different thing altogether.

One thing I’ve always wanted is to create a story that manages to stir feelings and emotions within the reader. These feelings aren’t simply limited to liking a character or sympathizing with it, but they can extend to other things like perhaps feeling the utmost hatred for the villain, cringing when the protagonist does/says something stupid, feeling happy when something good happens and sad when bad stuff happen. I want great characters like Bilbo and Gandalf and Thorin.

I don’t want to write an epic story like that to gain any fame. I just know it would make me happy to have created something that can make readers feel something. Though I won’t deny that if a director decided to make a movie out of one of my books, I wouldn’t say no. 😉

I don’t think my stories are quite at that level yet. I know I’ll have to go to great lengths to create something enchanting, but when I come back, like Bilbo I will have a fantastic tale to tell. I’m sure of it.

What are some stories you wish you wrote yourself? Have you watched The Hobbit yet? Are you planning to? I really recommend it!

39 thoughts on ““You’ll have a tale or two to tell when you come back…”

    • Well to be honest I only read it shortly before the movie because I often like to read books then watch their adaptations. If it helps, the movie is a LOT more grabbing than the book. And I mean a lot. You should try it. 😀

  1. Out of all the texts from Tolkien’s vivid imagination, I have to say that the Hobbit was probably my favorite. It was quick and to the point, unlike the Lord of the Rings which to me seemed rather long winded by comparison.
    The film is yet to be released where I live yet and I was wondering about seeing it because the previous few times I have managed to make my way to the cinema I have been disappointed. According to the reviews from Australian critics thus far, the film is great but the 48 bit film rate hurts the eyes. Is this true?
    Just wondering because you can’t really trust Australian film reviewers. According to a university tutor of mine, the way movies are reviewed Down Under is as follows; a group of monkeys are placed in a room, and they throw banana’s at a number of movie posters. The movie poster with the most banana’s attached to it in the end gains the highest rating of approval (3 stars). Although come to think of it now, my tutor may not have being entirely serious.

    • Agreed. I found it much easier than the Lord of the Rings. The movies are all equally awesome though. 😀
      I actually didn’t know about it being a 48-bit film until after I watched it. My eyes hurt a bit, but I attributed that to the 3D aspect of the movie since that’s what usually bothers my eyes. However, I was too engrossed in everything to care!
      And I don’t believe your tutor was being serious either, haha.

  2. Can’t wait to watch it! 😀
    btw – couldn’t help but notice that your penned name (duh!) on the cover of Puppet Parade, is Zeinab Alayan, and I was wondering – what part of the world do you come from? 🙂

  3. silfverfisken says:

    Saw it today, and I too loved it! Was afraid there for a bit, that I was the only one, everyone else seems to be like “Meh.” But come on! It’s The Hobbit! 😀

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

