A Reader’s Resolutions

I’m not one for resolutions. I’ve noticed that I always fail to meet them, whether it is to go to bed early, exercise more, cut down on chocolate (perish that thought!) or otherwise. However, I know I can’t go wrong if I’m doing something I enjoy; less chance of failure there. So for 2013, I shall make me some reading resolutions!

1. As has been the case for the last two years, this year I’m going to challenge myself to read a certain amount of books. In 2011 I went with 20 books, last year I went with 30, and this year I’m going to kick it up to 40. I know I’m not as ambitious as some other avid readers out there who read more than a 100 books per year, but I know my limits, and I know that I have stories of my own to write as well.

2. I will attempt to read at least one classic. I don’t like classics. Well, most of them anyway. I often end up feeling bored and frustrated with them (possibly because they were torture tools in English classes), but I’m going to grit my teeth and try to read one in 2013.

3. I will read more children novels. I read two delightful children books in 2012. They were sweet, innocent and uplifting, and I need more of that in my life. So this year I will walk proudly into the children section, plop down among all the little kiddies andΒ  read some books.

4. I will never stop reading a book no matter how awful. I always power through my books, even if I hate them, so this is just a friendly reminder for myself in my darkest hours.

5. I will read more indie novels. I don’t know why I never read books by independent authors before last year; there are so many fantastic books out there that just need a little bit more coverage. I look forward to reading the books of my fellow bloggers too!

6. I will try to cut down on my paperback expenses (I know I’m failing at this already – I bought three yesterday, and I have six more books on the way!) by reading more eBooks. I love paperbacks as much as the next person, but eBooks save money. As one planning to get married this year, I do need to do some saving!

7. I will write a review for every book I read, even if it’s just a couple of lines. Now that I have my book out there, I know how nice it feels to receive a review. A rating is nice, but it’s just the icing on the cake that is the review.

8. I will not to be lured by pretty covers and glowing reviews. I will not be lured by pretty covers and glowing reviews. I will not be lured by pretty covers and glowing reviews. Maybe if I say it enough it’ll become engraved in my mind! Just because everyone and their mother like something does not mean I will too, and unfortunately I’ve learned that the hard way.

Those were my reading resolutions for 2013. Are you planning to make any resolutions, reading or otherwise? Have you set any book goals for this year? Do you have any recommendations for me? I’d love to hear them!

Oh, and I may be late for the party, but… Happy New Year! I hope it’s fantastic for each and every one of you. πŸ˜€

53 thoughts on “A Reader’s Resolutions

  1. Daniel Koeker says:

    My first one is just to read more. That’s the big one. Reading in the first place has become difficult, and I still want to break out of that. I don’t think I’ll force it, because that will make it less fun, but no more excuses.

    I’ll read more indies as well. I nabbed a TON of free indie books from my G+ writers circles who were promoting theirs, so there’s a bunch on my Nexus just waiting to be read.

    I’m with you on not stopping (and since we powered through American Gods I feel like we can finish anything), and writing reviews is a good one too. I’ll have to consider that one, it’s pretty nice. But I’m not going to make myself read classics or anything. I’ll focus on what I think I’ll enjoy. I think life is too short to waste on bad books.

    • You’ve set a good goal for yourself, so hopefully you can make it. And hopefully we can read more fun books this year. =x
      I think AG sets the bar for the worst book we’ve ever read, no? And hey, there might be some good classics out there. I’m going to cross my fingers and hope for the best!

  2. Those are lovely resolutions! However I love classics more than the other books, so I kinda blinked a little there. πŸ˜€ My resolutions are also literary in nature: Read more and create more. I love to read and create. Also I want to query my novel this year…that was a resolution. Wish me luck! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Mariella! Classics just rub me the wrong way; maybe I’ll end up reading something I like this year. πŸ™‚ Best of luck with your novel! I hope you’re successful with the querying process!

  3. Sounds just like how I do things. However, I like classics, especially Shakespeare. And I’m only attempting 25 books this year, not 40. I just finished a young adult indie ebook πŸ™‚ That covers about 3 of your resolutions. I like the idea about finishing a book even though it’s awful. That’s what I want to do, though I have yet to read a truly awful book lately. Plenty of mediocre ones, though.

    Good luck!

  4. Zen, I’m with you again! I miss reading so much, and I am definitely reading more this year. My few reviews have meant so much to me, so I’m leaving reviews, too. And I hate reading classics. For me, it must be my ADD, because I tend to slog through them wanting to watch the movie instead. … Children’s books! You know we homeschooled our son, and we read aloud way past the time when he was reading on his own. We read juvenile fiction and enjoyed it immensely. Because I still have so many children’s books in the house, I find myself reading at the shelves every now and then. I like this addition to your list. πŸ˜‰

    • You should set a challenge for yourself, Maddie. =D It’s a great motivator! And I know what you mean about classics… they’re much more interesting when you can watch them, haha. I had a lot of books as a child but somehow they got lost, it’s nice that you’ve managed to keep them. They’re just too happy to only be read by kids, aren’t they? πŸ™‚

      • Yes, they are too happy for just kids. πŸ˜‰ I still have my used children’s book business. My inventory has been reduced from over 5,000 books to about 500, so my business is much smaller than it was, but I still have a lot of books I can peruse when I want. … Maybe I *will* set a reading challenge for myself. Thanks!

  5. I have new year resolutions, like I do every January, but this time I’m going to tackle them head on (until the motivations seeps from my system).

    My book goal is 24 books, because it was 24 last year and I only got to 20 books, so I thought I would try harder this year. I’ve already started with George Orwell’s “Animal Farm”, which I love so far!

    I’m also going to try to write a review of every book that I read. I think that’ll help my writing and will help me to formulate my opinions of certain books better. This comes from my tutor telling me that I’m vague in my essays.

    Classics aren’t that bad. Some of them are boring as hell, but there are some that’s really enjoyable to read. Although in order to find those enjoyable ones, you’ll have to search hard through the boring stuff.

    I’ve also got writing resolutions. I have decided that I’m going to write a minimum of 100 words a day every day. This is a ridiculously small amount, but as I get more comfortable with writing everyday, then I’ll push up the amount. It’s slow, but I’ll get there. THE TORTOISE ALWAYS WINS!!!

    Other than that… I think I’ll try to attempt to do some sort of physical activity in order to shape up, but we’ll have to see if I’ll try to attempt. *looks at bed lovingly*… “Thanks bed for always being there for me…”

    Never cut down on chocolate! NEVER!!!

    I’ve just realized that I’ve made a lot of paragraphs. I like paragraphs, they make everything easier to read. Some people ignore paragraphs, they don’t realize how fat their poor single paragraph posts feels. It feels absolutely bloated!

    That’s why I’m going to rule the world… with paragraphs!

    Oh look another one!

    No one can stop me!!!

    MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAaaaaaaa!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    sorry for my retardedness…

    • Haha, your comment made me laugh, so no worries!

      24 is not a bad number, so good luck with that. I hope you can make it this year. πŸ™‚ And that’s part of the reason I don’t like classics. I don’t want to waste too much time digging when I could be reading more interesting books.

      Your writing resolution makes sense! It’s better to start small than not start at all, and I know what you mean about beds being so inviting, haha. And I will never give up chocolate. Ever!

  6. You have some great resolutions here, Zen. Number 4 – I just can’t keep reading a book if I don’t like it no matter how much I try so I really admire you setting your sights on doing this!

    Number 8 – I will not be lured by pretty covers and glowing reviews – I must tell my hubby this about DVDs. He always picks SHOCKERS because ‘it looked good on the cover’ LOL πŸ˜€

    Have a wonderful 2013! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Dianne! I just feel like I can’t formulate a completely accurate opinion of a book if I don’t read it till the end, so I power through.
      Haha, well, I know how that is! A good cover always manages to sell the product, regardless of what it is .
      I hope you have a wonderful year too! πŸ˜€

  7. I love your reading resolutions! I think I may have the most trouble with the last resolution, because somehow the books with pretty covers or those always talked about get into my hands. My goal is to read at least 25, review each, and read a few books on my ‘to read’ list that have been on there a few years. Happy New Year!

    • It is difficult to resist the pretty covers, so I know what you mean! What I order a book online I aim to buy the edition with the prettiest cover, haha. 25 books is not bad! You could easily manage if you read 2 books per month. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year to you too, Caroline!

    • Yay! Glad you do. πŸ™‚
      As for classics, the ones I thought were mediocre/disliked include Persuasion, The Mill on the Floss, The Great Gatsby, Jane Eyre, Lord of the Flies, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Emma… I could go on, haha. As for ones I’m inclined to try… well, I think I may check out Catch 22, To Kill a Mocking Bird and The Catcher in the Rye, though I admit I’m somewhat hesitant!

      • Oh no. I thought I could help you and point you to some classics you might enjoy, but you just named some of those I really really liked as ones you disliked. Now I don’t trust my advice any longer. Although, Catch 22 you might like… It’s got such a skewered sense of humour. The other two are great as well. Or, how about Dracula by Bram Stoker? That’s a very good read, it’ll keep you right on edge, fabulous suspense and not a dull moment anywhere!

        • Oh dear. Was it Jane Eyre? I know many people are fans of that one but I couldn’t really get into it. 😦 I like humour, so I’ll check out Catch 22 first and then possibly Dracula. Books about vampires should be moderately interesting!

        • It’s THE book about vampires, or vampire. Stoker invented the whole thing, at least as far as our current idea of vampires goes. Also, it’s just really well done, the way he builds it up. πŸ™‚
          Jane Eyre, Persuasion, Huckleberry Finn, Tom Sawyer… all of them! πŸ˜‰

        • Well it would be nice to read about how they started out. Thank you for the recommendation. =D
          Oh dear. Persuasion is probably my most hated classic, haha.

  8. You are truly an ambitions woman. I resolved to write 50 reviews over the year and started a new blog to do it. Hope you get a chance to check it out. lisaspiralreads.wordpress.com

  9. Woop woop! I’m always pro reading resolutions. πŸ™‚ Good luck with these, they sound like fun. I’m trying to make myself read more Indie authors this year too, and there are a few classic children’s novels I’ve been wanting to read for a long time!

    I say, allow yourself to be reeled in by good reviews, but only if you know that the review is from someone with very similar tastes as you! I am lucky to have found a few good people on wordpress that this applies to, so hopefully you will/have too. πŸ™‚

    Have a good 2013.

    • Thanks, Becky! If you’re going to read children’s novels, consider Midnight for Charlie Bone or The Mysterious Benedict Society. Those are pretty nice.
      And you make a fair point. I like reading reviews, so hopefully I can find someone with similar tastes.
      You have a great 2013 too! πŸ™‚

  10. I like your book resolutions, but I’ve made a decision NOT to finish books if I don’t like them. It makes me feel guilty to not finish a book. I’ve always thought, “Well, I’ve put this much time into it, might as well finish it.” But I’m trying to let that go. There are so many books out there that I want to read. Why should I shortchange myself the experience of enjoying one of them, because I’m spending time on one that’s not my cup of tea?

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

    • I understand where you’re coming from! Sometimes I want to just put down a book and never look at it again, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. I think I’ve only ever stopped reading one book that was supposed to be a chick flick but ended up being an erotica.
      No problem, and thank you as well! πŸ™‚

  11. Zombiehero says:

    I really love that last one. I have experienced it a few times recently, and I just end up feeling so disappointed because of my high expectations.

  12. My head was bobbing up and down as I went through your resolutions. I don’t need to make myself read children’s books because I’m reading them to my grandchildren, or the younger ones. The other two are flying on their own now.
    I like e-books but am not giving up on hard copies. Somebody has got to keep the publishing industry going. But they are expensive, aren’t they? Can I suggest the local library? I do a bit of mix and matching myself. Also, are there any second hand bookshops left where you are? I love second hand bookshops.

    • I love children’s books! I guess for some time I just drifted to the “adult” section and forgot about the joy of reading a book intended for children, so I’m having fun rediscovering that now. πŸ™‚
      I’m never giving up on hard copies either. In fact, I bought two new books yesterday (so much for keeping my resolutions, haha). Unfortunately there aren’t any local libraries or second hand bookshops were I live. =[

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

