The greatest thing since sliced bread.

I love bread as much as the next person, though I admit I don’t see why it should set the bar for all inventions from 1928 until now. There have been many great inventions since that year (such as mobile phones and the internet!), but to be fair to sliced bread, I’m going to stick to the food category.Β  So let’s step back through time – there’s a nasty war between 1939 and 1945 that you might want to avoid – and see what other fantastic foods have been invented since sliced bread.

mike-n-ikeIn 1940, the delicious candy known as Mike and Ike was first introduced. Now I don’t know about you, but I have yet to come across any jelly beans that taste better than this. They’re extremely chewy and full of flavour. I especially love the Berry Blast, Jolly Joes and Zours varieties, and it’s not uncommon for me to consume family packs in one sitting!

m&m's1941 witnessed the birth of a great candy known as M&M’s, and I’m sure a certain someone will agree with me that this was indeed the greatest thing since sliced bread. πŸ˜‰ With its hard candy shell and smooth chocolate center, who could resist popping M&M’s into their mouth? You’ll run out without even noticing, and before long you’ll be tipping your bag over to see if you missed a piece.

candy-necklaceCandy necklaces were invented in 1958, and as childish as it may make me appear, I absolutely adore this candy. Ever since I was a kid I would get such a kick out of wrapping this around my hand and nibbling diligently at each piece until it broke off. They had a chalky texture and really sweet taste, almost like Sweetarts but without the tang. I couldn’t wear them around my neck because I was afraid of getting my hair sticky, haha.

Nutella

In 1963, the most incredible spread since cream cheese and peanut butter was invented by Ferroro, for which many of us are grateful. Can you imagine a world without Nutella? I sure can’t. Some will argue that it can’t be greater than sliced bread because we need bread to eat Nutella, but that’s not true! Nutella tastes better on graham crackers and fruits and cakes, and even straight out of the jar. In fact there are many ways to eat Nutella that do not involve bread. It’s perfect!

buglesI’m a “sweet” kind of gal, but I do crave a bit of salt every now and then. Invented in 1965, Bugles has always been a fun snack, both to play with and eat. I love the distinct taste of Bugles. It’s very light and crumbles in your mouth, and at the same time it’s really filling. If you’ve ever worn these caps on your fingers and pretended you’re a witch with talons, you’ll know what I mean by fun. =D

PringlesFinally, in 1967, Pringles with its innovative packaging was invented. Chips in a can – a pretty genius idea if you ask me. Regardless of all the awesome flavours, I love the fact that all the chips are alike and none of them are broken! Sure there may be some crumbs at the bottom, but it’s so easy to just tilt the can and let them all slide into your mouth. I also like that you can close the lid and put it away for later, unlike bags of chips which cannot be resealed once you open them and end up being stale if left out for too long. =[

So these are some of the greatest things, in my opinion, that have been invented since sliced bread. Of course now I’m incredibly hungry, haha. Do you agree with my list? What do you think is the greatest thing since sliced bread?

This was written in response to the Daily Prompt: Sliced Bread.

51 thoughts on “The greatest thing since sliced bread.

  1. Being an Italian, Nutella is the most well-known to me,though I heard about the other specialties you mention…..
    But what I adored was your post as a whole,your way of writing and your” grace” in telling things……..

  2. I take a time out for a couple of days and suddenly your blog looks all new! I loved the old look, but this is nice as well. Comfortable and sweet. πŸ™‚
    And I’m with you on why sliced bread should set the bar for great inventions when it’s totally obvious that it has to be espresso makers!

    • Haha. I loved the old look toooo, and I’m still seriously contemplating going back to it. But I thought a change might be nice. πŸ˜‰
      I may have to disagree with you on that… but only because I’m no good with those machines. I end up wasting more coffee than anything!

  3. Candy necklaces also work well as projectiles. Just bite one in half carefully, make a slingshot with your teeth and two pointer fingers, and then fling it at a sibling. Excellent use of a great invention.

  4. Zen, I love your new, fresh look!

    Hahahaha … you couldn’t possibly have been talking about me with M&M’s, eh? I am just about with you all down the line, but I’ve never eaten a Mike and Ike; I buy Jelly Bellys.
    Candy necklaces were a favorite of mine, too, as a kid. I’ve never tried Nutella (but will soon since you give it a glowing review), and I *have* put bugles on all of my fingertips. πŸ™‚ I’m also a Pringles lover. It’s so much nicer to put a stack next to you rather than digging into a greasy bag.

    Fun post, Zen. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I’m glad you do. πŸ˜€
      I actually was referring to you! You’re the biggest consumer of M&M’s I know, haha. And you should give Mike and Ike a chance if you come across them; they’re delicious.
      You know, Daniel had never tried Nutella before he met me, now he buys it all the time. I have yet to convert him into a “spooner” though, i.e. people who eat it straight out of the jar. πŸ˜‰ And yes! That’s one reason I like Pringles. No greasy hands for me. πŸ™‚

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

