Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast.

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

White-Queen_Alice-in-WonderlandThe White Queen knows what she’s talking about, that really is a good habit to practice. On days that are exceptionally bleak, it helps to have some positives to hold on to during the day. I don’t usually have breakfast, so let’s pretend the White Queen said lunch instead of breakfast, shall we?

1. The day will come when I don’t have to wake up at ungodly hours of the morning. It’s no secret that I love to sleep, and who doesn’t really? The thing I dread the most about my day job is dragging myself out of my warm bed when sleep still has a vice-grip on me. It’s very unlikely, but I do dream of the day when I’m leading a cosy enough life that allows me to stay in bed however long I want. One can dream.

2. I will write something astounding. Not to say that I don’t like my stories, but there’s a level I want to reach where I’m left in awe of my own brilliance, so to speak. I have read several amazing books this year that have made me wish I could’ve written them because they were that incredible. I want to be the writer of a book someone else wishes they had written. Why is this impossible? Because every time I reach a certain level, I will come find someone who writes even more beautifully and yearn for that.

3. I will see the world. It has always been a dream of mine to travel to as many countries as possible. For as long as I remember I’ve wanted to visit UK, Japan, Switzerland, France, Malaysia, China… and a number of others. It’s just really fascinating to me. Unfortunately that won’t happen unless funds allow it, so this one is sorta linked to #1.

travelling

Hopefully I don’t end up resorting to that. (http://funnypiccs.com)

4. Nobody will hate my books. Yesterday, Maddie Cochere talked about her experience with her first bad reviews ever. Now, while I know that it’s impossible for everyone to like what I’ve written, I can’t help but secretly wish that nobody will hate them. Ever. Not even if students are forced to study them in classrooms. But that’s just my wish, haha.

5. Food will look as good in real life as it does on commercials/menus. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. Food always looks so incredibly good when you see it on TV or when you’re selecting something from a menu, then the plate arrives and there’s instant disappointment. I almost want to return my meal and demand a refund when confronted with the reality of things.

Somebody tell me how those two even relate. I mean, seriously? D=

Somebody tell me how those two even relate. I mean, seriously? D=

6. I will never be sad again. It’s easy to see why this is impossible. With all the bad things happening in the world and the tragedies we see (whether in real life or in fiction), it’s impossible not to feel down. Or it’s possible, but then you’d be an insensitive person void of emotion! But hey, it doesn’t hurt to be optimistic about things, right? 🙂

I almost included “Chocolate can fix anything”, but then I realised that it is actually possible, haha. Can you relate to any of my impossible things? Do you think they’re possible? What are your six impossible things?

March 18 edit: I posted this thinking The Daily Post didn’t take my suggestion, but they did today! Yay!

39 thoughts on “Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast.

  1. Lovely post. Sadly one of my impossible things will be ‘I’ll stop procrastinating and finding things to do other than writing’!
    I should be busy continuing with the first draft of ‘Church Of The White Rabbits’ but instead I’m reading other people’s blog posts. Still it was a pleasure to read.

    • Thank you! Haha, I should’ve added that to my list as well because I can never stop procrastinating either. I’m glad you liked the post. =D

  2. The trick to #5 is to eat real food. Things like vegetables and good quality meat really do look as good in person. That’s why they don’t need the advertisers. 🙂 #3 is about prioritizing. On a limited income myself my travel opportunities are rare, but I stash away extra and all my birthday/holiday cash gifts. I’ve even thrown $5 in the pot every time I could have had a latte or a lunch out and didn’t. About once every 5 years I find some way to squeeze in international travel (even if it’s just a drive to Canada, or for you Mexico might be closer.)

    • You’re right! Fruits and vegetables often look good in both pictures and reality. Though I know some people tend to hide away the spoiled food underneath the good ones to trick customers. =/ That’s a good idea! I think I may need to invest in a piggy bank of some sort. However, neither Canada nor Mexico are close to me unfortunately. =[

  3. “I want to be the writer of a book someone else wishes they had written”—Yes! I so get this. I love when I read a book that leaves me in awe of the writer’s talent. That magical combination of beautiful writing, great story, and page-turning insistence. It’s almost better than chocolate. Almost.

    • Haha, I agree! Recently I read this book titled The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making. If you get the chance (and do enjoy fairy tales), I recommend that you pick it up because the writing and the story are truly magical and beautiful.

  4. I think #1 – #4 will happen for you (#3 probably already has by the reviews you are getting. You are still on my list to read this year). #5 will never happen, and you are right, #6 would make for an insensitive person. What an interesting and creative post, Zen!

    • Well, Puppet Parade may be one thing, but I’m not so confident about The Muse Bunny, especially since the protagonist (or antagonist, depending on how you look at it) is so vile! I don’t think people will like it very much. xD Thank you, Maddie! I’m glad you think so. =D

  5. Loved your post, especially #5 and #6! While also having the same wish as #1 and #3 I have hopes that they will be possible, at least #3 someday hopefully 🙂

    And yep chocolate can fix (almost) anything 😉
    that makes 4 + 1 things we both relate to!

  6. kansamuse says:

    When I used to work at a grill I did not like the pictures either. They use raw meat that is colored and other techniques, it looks like the used a heat source to melt the cheese. I bet it is not melted underneath. The cooks take the complains.
    I wish they would just take real pictures.

    • I never thought about it from the cooks’ perspective. I can only imagine the number of “This product doesn’t look like the ads!” complaints they receive. D=

  7. Pingback: thelissachronicles

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

