Facebook keeps asking what’s on my mind.

This yummy dessert is stuffed with Nutella. Absolutely to-die-for. (Photo Credit: http://krispykreme.co.uk)

This yummy dessert is stuffed with Nutella. Absolutely to-die-for. (Photo Credit: http://krispykreme.co.uk)

Well, Facebook, I’m not in my best of spirits I can tell you that. There have been ups and downs, occasional bursts of fun and escape from reality, and frequent headfirst collisions with the hard reality… no cushions. Sometimes I wish I could go back a few years, when I only had to worry about grades and weekend plans.

You can say that this is a status update of sorts. Or maybe a sort of mini-journal entry. Either way, so as not to bore you with all the details of my mundane life, I’m going to write about a few select highlights. One important such highlight is that this weekend I indulged in my first chocolatey treat in weeks – a chocolate dreamcake doughnut from Krispy Kreme. I had been planning to hold out a bit longer on chocolate, but really, who can resist a KK doughnut? 😉 Plus, I do believe I earned it. I’ve stuck to my diet and exercise throughout this period and lost more than 15 pounds, which is excellent if you take into consideration that I only started three weeks ago!

That doughnut put me in a good mood. I don’t know about you, but without sugar I’m one cranky grouch. And I’ve been even grouchier lately due to all the stress at work and my inability to get past my Writer’s Block. As regards the former, I’m looking for a new job; I’m hoping to work for a publishing house so I can translate and edit novels and manuscripts. However, my Writer’s Block seems pretty much incurable at the moment; I’ve rewritten the same part five or six times already, but to no avail. =[

What have I been doing if not writing? Well, mostly reading. And buying new books. I regret to say that I’ve been failing miserably at my  resolution to not buy too many books in 2013. I just cannot resist picking up a book or two when I pass by a bookshop. There’s always some book I’ve been looking for or wanting to read, and I figure the money’s there,  so… before I know it I’m happily clutching a carrier bag filled with books.

As you can see, when I buy books... I just don't hold back. I've bought all these books in less than 3 months!

As you can see, when I buy books… I just don’t hold back. I’ve bought all these books in less than 3 months! Somebody needs to hide my purse! *flails*

Anyway, I consider it a form of therapy. There’s always something so soothing about handing over your card and buying new things… or at least in my case, new books and stationery. In the words of Becky Bloomwood, “Oh… the rush you feel when you swipe your card. And it’s approved. And it all belongs to you!” Oh the curse of a consumerist society.

Isn't that the cutest pen ever?!

Isn’t that the cutest pen ever?! And that notebook… I can’t keep my hands off leather notebooks.

That said, I did buy some lovely stationery this weekend. I have way too many pretty notebooks and pens than what is probably healthy, but I can’t resist! And then I can’t figure out what to do with them. Any ideas? I’m not going to use it as a diary because I never stick to those. So I need to use it for something that will keep me occupied from cover to cover.

Other than that, I have not been up to much. Today I finished translating and proofreading a 7500 word document, and I realised something – if I combined all the words I translated in the span of one month, I would have myself a complete novel. It’s a pity that by the time I’m done working, I’m too tired to even look at the computer anymore. I will be getting away from it all during the weekend, so that should be good.

What is on your mind? Read any good books lately… or any of the books from my pile? Watched any fun movies? (I have watched two Bruce Willis movies this week and they were both quite fun!) Do you have any suggestions for me as regards my new notebook?

Oh, and of course, you can still enter to win a $15 Amazon Gift Card or a copy of Puppet Parade here!

26 thoughts on “Facebook keeps asking what’s on my mind.

  1. Congrats on the weight loss! That’s quite an accomplishment and deserves a new book or two.

    To reward our spring cleaning efforts this week, my hubby and I have watched two movies–End of Days and Flight. Both were really good, but both were intense. I think I’ll need a comedy next. 🙂

    • Thank you, Carrie! I’m really pleased with myself. 😀

      I have heard of both these movies, though I never got around to watching them. I can recommend some comedies for you, they’re my favourite. =D Have you watched Killers (a lot less ominous than it sounds), Date Night or Men in Black 3? Easy A, Monster in Law and When in Rome are pretty funny too. 🙂 Or even Rise of the Guardians if you enjoy animated features.

  2. Wow, that’s a great stack of books you have there Zen, makes me feel all happy just looking at them! I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy looking at them, LOL.

    As for the notebook dilemma…..hmmmm you could keep a book of quotes, or dreams if you have many dreams ermmm, a book reading journal (I’ve seen a lot of those around but because my blog is basically book reviews there’s no point. Ermmm character sketches, doodles, or you could use it for drafting blog posts…… that’s all I’ve got. 😛

    P.S. I hate Facebook asking me what’s on my mind, it’s none of it’s goddamn business, and I hate Facebook anyway. 🙂

    • I have been enjoying them quite a lot! Already “ate” my way through a third of them, haha.
      I already have a book of quotes, and I do write my reviews on Goodreads. I have another notebook allocated for stories and brainstorming, but I rather like the idea of a dream book. I dream almost every other night.
      And you’re right! Facebook is just being nosy there. 😉

  3. Now I feel like a chocolate dreamcake doughnut from Krispy Kreme! That’s what’s on my mind 😀

    Congrats on the weight loss, Zen – what a good girl you’ve been. You deserve that chocolate dreamcake doughnut from Krispy Kreme (told you I couldn’t get it off my mind!) :D.

    • Haha, did you manage to get one? It really is a very tasty doughnut. =D
      And thank you, Dianne! I have been trying my best to behave. I have a slab of Cadbury’s chocolate in my drawer that I haven’t touched for weeks!

  4. Journals and notebooks. I use mine for novel plotting and ideas. Sometimes I just doodle. I print out writing quotes and Pinterest images that help me visualize characters and places; paste them inside. I know I could easily create an electronic format for this but notebooks are how I brainstorm and my laptop is where I compose. Hope your block leaves you soon with a creative storm in its wake. Congrats on the weight loss and happy reading. ~Gail

    • I have one notebook specifically reserved for plotting and stories, and another one where I jot down any nice quotes I come across. Notebooks are much more personal than any electronic format. 🙂 Thank you, Gail, I really hope so too!

  5. Notebooks eh? Now there’s an idea! Whenever I plan to write a book, I write everything on separate refill paper, and that paper then accumulates with more paper, and I find myself wading through an ocean load of the stuff as to get to my computer and type it into a Word Doc.
    As for the writers block, a university lecturer of mine recently said just to start writing, and eventually you should end up writing something worth continuing. She never did say how many pages of writing you would need to conceive before you finally felt content.
    Question Zen – was one of the Bruce Willis films you watched recently Die Hard 5? I’m interested in seeing it, but not many people have provided it with a good review and it would be nice to finally have somebody with no nefarious bias provide their ideas for a change.

    • I have another notebook for that very same purpose! I sometimes like to go back through it and read over my brainstorming sessions, or consider all the other possible outcomes of my novels. I’m thinking of a different way to use this one though. 🙂
      I am trying to write, but as I said, I already had to scrap down a large chunk of my novel five times. It gets a bit disheartening after a while. =[
      Actually, I watched Die Hard 4 and The Fifth Element. They were both pretty awesome! And if you’re looking for someone without bias, then I’m a wrong choice – Bruce Willis happens to be one of my favourite actors, haha.

  6. I am pretty sure you deserve the dessert and the books, as a sort of weight loss prize. 🙂 Only the translation seems to be hard. I’ve been more into chocolate and movies than writing or reading. It must be this time of the year. Changes… Yesterday I watched the fantastic tale Oz the Great and Powerful. Enjoyable movie. As for your new notebook, my suggestions are: poetry, recipes (starting with the above doughnut), reviews on books you read and movies you watched.

    • Haha, thanks! Oh, and I’ve been wanting to watch that movie. The effects at least seem to be rather incredible. And thank you for the suggestion; I may end up using it for various things. 🙂

  7. Congrats on the diet success and finishing out that doc translation -that sounds like a lot of work! definitely a well-deserved doughnut.
    As for the books; I’ve read Speaker for the Dead and listened to Snuff – enjoyed them both for the Genuine People Personalities ™ characters and the social commentary -as well as just the story. I love all the Pratchett I can get my hands on, particularly the Wee Free Men/Tiffany Aching mini-series. I keep hoping someone will put some of *those* books to film. My personality is a little more out of synch with Card’s characterizations, but I can still empathize with them. The rest of the books in that universe (which I only discovered in the library and read recently) are also pretty good; some follow Peter and others follow Bean(!). Just in case you hadn’t seen those yet.

    Is there really such a thing as *too many* books? It is my lifetime resolution to *just once,* have enough shelves for all my books before I move out of a place. Needless to say, it hasn’t happened yet.

    For the notebook, my suggestion is scrapbook/collage; I have a lot of fun cutting chunks of words and pictures out of discarded magazines and reassembling them to create completely different messages or meanings. Deliberately using advertisement images out of context amuses me a lot in certain moods. In other moods I can get all psychological, and sometimes I work my mind out by seeing what I assemble when I *don’t* think too much about doing it.

    As for Facebook asking “What’s on your mind?” I try to take that as appreciating somebody who asks the right question -as opposed to “How you doing?” (or some busybody just being nosy). I’m much more likely to answer the first question with some degree of accuracy (and be much less depressing about it) than the second. It’s a small happy, much like the credit card machine or the gas station pump giving me “approval.” Just a tiny little satisfaction, that sometimes make my day better.

    Best of luck with the publishing house job hunt!

    • Haha, thank you! I definitely feel like I earned it. =D
      I know what you mean about Pratchett. He rarely seems to go wrong with his writing! I read I Shall Wear Midnight last year and absolutely loved it. Such a fantastic book. I also know that the other books in the series feature other characters, but for some reason I have always found Ender to be the most interesting character. 🙂
      I’m already lamenting my lack of shelves! I am now stacking them horizontally across all the other books, and it’s making me sad. =[ I like to place them properly on their shelves.
      The idea of a collage is interesting, but probably not for me. I’ve never been much of a handicrafts fan. Thank you for the suggestion though!
      Hmm. You have a nice way of looking at it, though personally I might answer “How are you doing?” more easily since I’m one who leans towards saying “I’m fine” even if I’m not”. Though I do like getting approved by a credit card machine. 😉
      Thank you! 😀

  8. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Nice topic! I am getting tired of Facebook myself. In fact, I haven’t opened mine for more than a year. You do translating? Rich. 🙂

    Anyhow, congratulations to your weight loss. I am trying to do the same since I started hitting the 40 kg mark. It’s the heaviest I got since I was born. Still, I am underweight.

    • Facebook is only great for the first few months, then it gradually gets boring. =[
      And thank you! 40 kg… wow you’re tiny! You don’t need to lose any weight, seriously. Haha.
      Also… I was just drawing my giveaway winners, and congratulations are in order! You won the $15 gift card. 😀 Do let me know which email to send the card too, and I’ll be sure to issue it to you ASAP.

      • 최다해 gongjumonica says:

        I know. And I feel sick reading updates from others. “is now in Krispy Kreme”, “is now eating choco-chip donut”, “is now getting a diet from eating sinful donuts” bla bla.

        My heaviest was 43 kg and I really felt bad about it. Now, I am back to 40. Last year, I was only 38! I still feel the need to tone my arms. And of course, my stomach 😦

        Hey, is this another way of getting back at me for my April Fools prank? If not, thank you! I am so glad to win!

        • I know what you mean. One should reserve such updates for Twitter. I feel Facebook should remain for more meaningful news flashes.

          Well, you can exercise without having to go on a diet. 🙂 It would help you tone your arms and stomach without cutting back on anything.

          Haha, no, it’s not payback! You won the gift card fair and square. Shall I send it to the email associated with your WordPress account?

  9. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Hmm. I can’t reply to that thread. TO avoid being sent to your spam folder, I’ll create a new thread. I am new to twitter, but I think I understand your point. Facebook now became a microblog and a marketing site for almost everything.

    I need a diet to flatten my stomach as well as some exercise for abs. Haha! I was into mixed martial arts last year, but the classes stopped. Will need to go back to something related soon.

    Aha! That’s nice of you. Revenge is a dish best served cold, but this one is better! Thank you! I am happy to be the winner of your giveaway. But who got your book?

    My email is this: monica dot calangian at gmail dot com

    • Twitter is a more light-hearted outlet, but yeah, these days my feeds are just filled with ads and funny images. Nothing really substantial. 😦

      Fair enough! Martial arts sounds like it could be fun. These days I’m just using my treadmill and doing some sit-ups. When summer rolls around I’ll start swimming. =D

      Haha, you’re welcome! I’ll send it to you soon. And what I did was give each person who commented on my post a number, then I fed the numbers into a generator. You came on top, and the next two people (naughtynefarious and 76sanfermo) won the book. 🙂

  10. Oh I am totally a book-buyer myself. Working for a publisher makes it so much more difficult to resist, with all the discounts!

    That said, I like your selection. It’s been a while since I read Pratchett, maybe time to pick up a new one!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

