In which I tease you with photos of sweets and books.

I don’t know about you, but when life stresses me out – and it has been doing that a lot lately – I find the best way to unwind is by spending a little money on things that make me happy. Well, all right, I’ll come clean; I spent more than a little, but today’s retail therapy did wonders to me. Wonders I tell you. With the overwhelming amount of work at the office, my recent escapade of paranoia, and my still-persistent headaches, it was nice to go out and have fun… and celebrate my recent Freshly Pressed status (I may sound all casual about it now but I was squealing my head off when I found out!).

So yes, retail therapy! What is it without sweets? 😀 If you’re on a diet the following pictures may be bad for you. I should know. I’m on a diet. But I do not regret what I ate! No, every single dish was completely worth it. I took my sister with me and between the two of us we shared three desserts, the first being a delectable (and extremely rich) Nutella pie.

I have never eaten so much Nutella in one sitting, but it was absolutely divine!

I have never eaten so much Nutella in one sitting!

After that we both shared a blue velvet cake topped with white fondant and blueberry jam.

Just look at how blue it is!

Just look at how blue it is!

I’ve never had anything like it, and I was absolutely delighted with its colour! I was like a five-year-old, gushing over the blueness of the cake and its general appearance rather than its taste, haha. I was almost afraid to sink my fork into it and break the whole appearance… but of course I ended up doing just that, and it was tasty. Oh so very tasty. I liked it a lot more than red velvet cakes!

Finally, we had crème brûlée. I’ve actually never had this dessert before. I’ve always seen people in movies raving about it, but never had it myself so I simply had to try it. I was surprised by the hard layer on top, but once I broke into it… oh my. Absolute heaven. Seriously, if you’ve never tried it before and are planning on going out to dinner soon, I suggest you order it for dessert. You will not regret it! But you will have to exercise a lot to burn off all those calories (I actually walked for nearly three hours today, haha).

Creme Brulee

Maybe it doesn’t look all that special, but it tastes divine!

And if that wasn’t enough I stopped by a store and bought some snacks as you can see below. I also bought a tub of Pringles, but you can’t see it here. Bye bye, diet.

I will try to eat these in moderation, but I promise nothing.

I will try to eat these in moderation, but I promise nothing.

A day of relaxation and celebration is not complete without books. Again, Zen? Yes, I’m afraid so. Just show me a library and I will dry your wallet and squeeze it for good measure. I bought five books today. I was about to buy a sixth one, but I held back. As of date I have 40 unread books on my bookshelves, and that is kinda overwhelming. I figured I should try to finish them first before I get new books… even though I’m practically itching to buy Khaled Hosseini’s new novel. Still, I’m quite pleased with my haul! I have Becky to thank for suggesting Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrel!

I absolutely cannot decide what to read first.

I absolutely cannot decide what to read first.

The icing on top of the metaphorical cake was catching Finding Nemo on TV a couple of hours ago. I still manage to cry over it even though I’ve watched it many, many times. But that was my day. 🙂 How has your day been so far? Did you buy any new books recently? Have you tried créme brûlée and loved it as much as I did?

30 thoughts on “In which I tease you with photos of sweets and books.

  1. I can relate. My books are piling up unread. Currently I am reading five books simultaneously hehe, I like to read that way sometimes when I am not gripped by a particular novel. I am in the middle of, Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk and The City of Djins by William Dalrymple and on the third chapter of Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco but then got distracted by a recent of purchase of his new book of essays about literature in which he suggested I first read Sylvie by Nerval before reading on. So there you go. The blue velvet cake looks yummy! And congratulations on being freshly pressed. 🙂

  2. Awesome day, Zen! I didn’t mind seeing your sweets at all, and they look amazing! I’ve never seen a Kit Kat Chunky before. One of our local candy stores carries Jelly Belly beans in bulk and we used to buy big bags of the popcorn flavor and take them with us to the movies. So glad you had fun. And as always, you can never have enough books – read or unread. 🙂

    • It was really fun! And they’re as amazing as they look. Oh my. Never seen a Kit Kat Chunky? They come in all sorts of kinds! Hazelnut, caramel, peanut butter, white, coconut… maybe you can find it on Amazon? I love Jelly Belly’s popcorn flavour! I think it’s a love or hate kind of thing because many people I know hate it. And while that is true, I need to start saving some money. 😉

  3. YAY! So glad you went for Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrel! I like the sound of The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland too. My tbr pile is currently pushing 180, I CAN ‘T COPE, AGH. I am never, ever letting it get this high again, it’s too confusing and difficult to pick what you want to read next, and whenever I’m reading a book I enjoy it, but I feel the weight of all the other ones waiting for me. :/

    I can’t believe that blue cake, it looks insanely awesome. 🙂

    • Haha, it’s so big though! I didn’t think it’d be a 1000+ pages book. If you want to read The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland you’d have to pick up the first book in the series. I can’t recommend it enough. It is written so beautifully you can’t help but love it. Haha, I know what you mean! I keep resisting adding books to my tbr pile because it’s overwhelming.

      Doesn’t it? I really loved it. 😀

  4. My goodness, that is the bluest cake I have ever seen. I kinda want one. I haven’t bought any new books, exactly, but I mentioned to a friend that I was reading Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and he gave me the next three or four in the series, and another friend is letting me borrow the Phantom Tollbooth. So…yeah. My room overfloweth with books. 🙂

    • Isn’t it? I had to have a slice when I saw it! The Phantom Tollbooth sounds like a very interesting book. Adding it to my to-read list right now. Oh boy.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

