Do it with ice cream.

When it comes to celebrating, I tend to go for chocolate and all kinds of different desserts. The most important thing to me is stuffing myself full of sugar in order to perfectly savour my celebratory moment. However, I realised I’d been overlooking one very important treat – ice cream.

I have had reason to celebrate recently. Some of you have seen me complain aboutΒ  work, and the past few weeks have been so rough and stressful, and I’ve fallen behind on everything from reading to blogging… but all that should change very soon. I’m happy to report that today I signed a contract for a brand new (and very fantastic) job as a game writer. Squee. Instead of spending eight hours a day slaving over laws and legal documents, I now get to write a story, complete with dialogue, character backgrounds, etc. and get paid for it. How cool is that?

Doesn't look as attractive as described, but you'll just have to trust me on this. I know my ice cream.

Doesn’t look as attractive as described, but you’ll just have to trust me on this. I know my ice cream.

To celebrate this joyous event, I went and treated myself to four scoops of ice cream – dark chocolate, caramel wafer, crΓ¨me caramel and tiramisu – topped with caramel sauce and chocolate chips. It was all so delicious and nice to have on such a hot day, and I was simply in heaven. However, it was incredibly sweet. Next time I’m going for fruity flavours!

Okay, okay, I’ll come clean – I’m not here to talk about ice cream; I’m merely using that as a thin disguise to tell you about my job. I was never good at being subtle, but I’m just so happy and excited right now!

Do you celebrate with ice cream or cake? Or something else altogether? Have you ever worked as a game writer before? What was the experience like?

73 thoughts on “Do it with ice cream.

      • Yeah I think WordPress is having some growing pains. This has happened a few times with my comments now where instead of going onto someone’s comments they have just disappeared! I don’t know what’s going on… but it seems to have happened on my blog too. Some of my regular commenters have ended up in spam. I have noticed a link between Caps Lock though so maybe it thinks Caps Lock equals spam..? :S

  1. What a great way to celebrate a fantastic new job (the job sounds great, by the way!). It’s very hot here where I live so I just treated myself to ice cream too (hazelnut – my favorite!).

  2. Congratulations! That sounds like such a fun job. Celebrating with ice cream is much better than with cake but I’ve never tried any of those flavors. I’ve got to get out and celebrate more often!

    • Thank you, Sheila! Cake is common for celebrations, ice cream is unique, ice cream cake is even better. πŸ˜€ And yes, you most definitely should.

  3. Congratulations!! That’s fabulous. How great to find something that excites you. I wish you luck with it, and I think ice cream is the perfect way to celebrate!

    • Thank you, Carrie! Isn’t it? To think I almost changed my mind about applying because I didn’t feel like I had adequate gaming experience. D=

        • That’s what I’ll be telling myself Thursday when I’m pitching my novel at Agentfest. Do you hear that? That’s the sound of my teeth chattering.

        • Ooh, that sounds nerve-wracking. But yes, if you don’t try you are going to be kept awake for many nights by all sorts of “what ifs”, and that would undoubtedly suck.

  4. When you celebrate with ice cream, try to find Blue Bell butter pecan. Made in Brenham, Texas and distributed in 22 states. It’ll make you want to smack your granny! πŸ™‚

  5. And I thought I was the only one who would celebrate any grand occasion with chocolates, desserts and the oh-so-famous Ice-cream! Words cannot describe how happy I am to find someone else like that! πŸ˜€
    Congratulations on your job!! πŸ™‚

      • Well, that makes us two! Actually, give me desserts without any reason also and I’ll eat it happily. Wake me up at midnight and tell me that there are desserts waiting for me, and I’ll jump from the bed and run towards it just so that no one else eats it! πŸ™‚
        Desserts are just capable of changing your mood.

  6. Congratulations on the new job!! I spent the morning cooking up a strawberry rhubarb compote to pour on my ice cream. Nothing to celebrate except that the rhubarb is in season. πŸ™‚

  7. Congrats on what sounds like a fantastic job! I didn’t even know there WERE game writers.

    I hear ya on the chocolate thing. That pic looks so yummy, I almost crawled through the keyboard to get it.

    • Haha, thank you! Basically it’s the same as a normal writer, though you have to think of many many alternative solutions rather than just one, so it can get a little extensive!

      Well I’m glad you think so; I didn’t think the picture did it justice!

  8. 2unpublishedgirls says:

    Awesome news about the job! Congrats. And no matter what’s going on in your life, there’s always a reason to have ice cream. -RB Austin

  9. Daniel Koeker says:

    Cake or ice cream? Why not both?!

    I did go to Cold Stone today though. And you know how I feel about your job. Yes yes. 8D

      • Daniel Koeker says:

        You know what’s weird? I like combining cake and ice cream, but I’m not a huge fan of ice cream cake. (I do like it, just not as much.) Maybe it’s because I don’t like the cake so cold. The warm cake and cold ice cream is an amazing combination.

        And I’m super proud of course! ❀

  10. Ramona says:

    Congratulations. That sounds like a fun job.

    Yay for Ice cream! I love ice cream, but It must have sprinkles. πŸ™‚

  11. Congrats!!! That’s very exciting! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And I’m partial to a fruity sorbet with kiwi and dark chocolate when I’m feeling celebratory 8D

      • It does sound a little weird, but for some reason it works! I have lately been getting the Strawberry Lemonade sorbet from Yogurtland for this concoction, so the chocolate cuts through all the acid and sour nicely. πŸ˜„

        HERP food! /rambling

  12. Fabulous, super, awesome…. – Congratulations!!!
    What cool, cool news, I’m totally in awe. And yeay also for the ice-cream, which is the only food I’m in the mood for eating at the moment anyway. That, and tomatoes with feta cheese. πŸ™‚
    Really well done on that game writing job – tell us more about it.

    • Well hi! It’s lovely seeing you here again. πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much! I will be sure to post more details about the game soon, so keep an eye out for it. πŸ˜‰ And tomatoes with feta cheese sound absolutely delicious right now.

  13. Congratulations! That sounds like an amazing job! The best of luck with it…. and just because you’ve had an initial celebratory icecream doesn’t mean you can’t have another few for good measure πŸ˜‰

  14. Zen, that is so exciting. Congratulations on your new job! When our son was a teen, he wanted to write and design video games, but it never panned out. I always thought that would be such a fun job – and now you are doing it! So cool!! You deserved all that sweet ice cream, and I must say that the treats you show us on your blog far outshine anything I have ever found here in Ohio. You kind of make me drool at times. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! I’m very excited! I admit I never thought about it for a career, but it beats sitting at a desk and translating. BY FAR. I’m really enjoying it so far. πŸ˜€ Haha, well… it takes some hunting around. You can find things like this anywhere as long as you search properly! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Britt! I’m having fun with it, which is more than I can say for my old job. πŸ˜‰ And I hear you! I could never name a favourite dessert myself.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

