My cure for a bad week.

I’ve been having a less than stellar week, some bad things happened that culminated with the loss of my tablet, the one I use for reading eBooks. To say I was upset would be understatement; I went to bed and cried into my pillow for a bit after the incident happened. I’m coming to terms with it now, and I’m already looking for a (cheaper) replacement as I’ve completely given up hope on retrieving it.

So today I decided to treat myself, and those who read my blog know that there’s no better way to cheer me up than with books and sweets! Yes, folks, it’s time for one of those posts again. I’m thinking it should be a regular segment on this blog! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I discovered that we have the Magnolia Bakery here in Lebanon (I’m guessing some of my American readers will recognize the name). As is the case with any new discovery, I tend to splurge. My sister and I shared a slice of red velvet cake, a Snickers icebox pie with cream cheese frosting, a mini caramel pecan cheesecake, a mini white chocolate macadamia nut cheesecake and finally, a cheese marbled brownie. I was on a sugar high.

Anย extreme sugar high.

After that I went book shopping! Usually I just stick a picture of my stack of books and let it do all the talking, but this time I thought I’d talk about each one a little bit. Maybe it would help one of you pick out your next read. ๐Ÿ™‚

Book Haul

My book haul! =D

Dream Londonย by Tony Ballantyne: I’ve actually never heard of this book (or the author) before now, but I loved the premise. A sort of bizzaro fiction where London changes a little every night and parks hide themselves and streets get up and move to new locations. Sounds pretty fascinating!

The Well of Ascensionย by Brandon Sanderson: I became a fan of Sanderson after reading his first book in the Mistborn Trilogy. This is the second book. And it is thicker. This makes meย veryย happy. I recommend this book for those who want to read a fantasy novel that is sophisticated, gripping and at the same time clean.

Cressย by Marissa Meyer: I have been waiting so long to read the third installment in the Lunar Chronicles, and this is the one I’m excited about the most because it stars Rapunzel, my absolute favourite fairy tale princess. I clapped my hands in glee when I saw it’s nearly twice as thick as the second book! I do recommend checking out this series, it is different from other YA fantasy out there with its fresh spin on fairy tale characters. I mean, I would’ve never in a million years thought about creating a cyborg Cinderella!

The Wizard of Oz:ย I don’t believe this needs any introduction. I bought it because it was a beautiful edition with leather binding and engraved words on the cover, spine and back. I’m a sucker for a pretty book.

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy:ย This is a silly book. It is written from the point of view of the princes who saved Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Snow White and Rapunzel… and have now been rejected by them and cast out of their castles. It’s a children’s book, but that has never stopped me. Plus the premise of this one is too funny to pass up!

Finally,ย The Girl who Soared over Fairyland and cut the Moon in Twoย by Catherynne M. Valente: I have spoken before of my love for Valente’s writing, specifically in the Fairyland series. She writes so beautifully you can almost taste her words. This is the third book in the series and my first hardcover by her.

So… I am now a happy girl! Sadness completely cured, as I’m sure a day of sweets and books binging would cure anyone’s mood! That said, how has your day/week been? Had any yummy desserts lately? Read any of these books or any awesome books? ๐Ÿ˜€

Not anything edible, but this flower in a jar was decorating our table. I thought it was very pretty!

Not anything edible, but this flower in a jar was decorating our table. I thought it was very pretty!

42 thoughts on “My cure for a bad week.

      • I tried Valente the first time you mentioned her and fell in love so for sure that one. The Hero’s guide sounds silly and fun as well. I read all the Oz books many many times as a child. The Wizard isn’t the best of the bunch, but it does look like a pretty edition. Meyer I’m avoiding until the series is done out of sheer crankiness about series books. I’m not sure how much longer I’ll hold out. Sanderson sounds like he needs to go to my watch this series list, but I know I will avoid that one until it’s done. Dream London does sound like a fascinating premise. Sort of Dr. Who meets Twilight Zone. So maybe none and maybe all. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Meyer only has one book left and that’s due to be released next year, so it’s not that long a wait compared to other series out there! Also, you’ll be pleased to know that this particular series by Sanderson (the Mistborn series) is complete! Or rather, the first three books are sort of a trilogy on their own, and the fourth book is set thousands of years later and can be read without reading the first three. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I love the title “The Girl who Soared over Fairyland and cut the Moon in Two” – how imaginative! That’s terrible that you lost your tablet, but I’m glad you treated yourself to sweets and books!!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your tablet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ As always, those sweets look really good! Maybe a feature like, “Sweet Snapshot Saturday/Sunday”, if you’re looking for ideas? Thank you for the book recommendations ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh wow! That is a LOT of sweets. And now looking at these pictures, I’m craving for some right now. So I know where I’ll be heading this evening ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I’m so sorry to hear about tablet though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I think I’ve developed a tolerance for sweets with the amounts I regularly consume! And it does, doesn’t it? I’m looking forward to reading it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Linda Govik says:

    Sorry about your bad week, but I have to say you seem to be a right champ in cheering yourself up – only by reading your blog post, MY mood improved (and I think I just gained a few pounds as well… *yum*). Great stuff! Hope the coming week will be better for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. You had me with the Red Velvet Cake. A rarity in Nicaragua. My roommate bakes, thank god! Not the same thing at all…but I did leave my tablet at someone’s house for a whole week, unable to retrieve it until the weekend. I cried too. I see now that was premature. I took a moment of silence for the loss of yours and I hope it is soon replaced.

    • It’s always good to have someone who can bake around! ๐Ÿ˜€ And thank you for your moment of silence – my friends are telling me not to give up on retrieving it, but I somehow doubt anyone will return a perfectly good tablet. =[

  6. I haven’t read Valente so I’m definitely going to read that one.

    Now I’m hungry after seeing those cakes – YUMMMMMM!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’m so sorry to hear about your tablet – what a disaster. I would cry for weeks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Oh you should! You’ll love her; she’s brilliant with her words! The cakes were amazing! And thanks – I am still a bit upset, but I’ve already found a similar (but cheaper) tablet I could buy instead!

  7. Fabulous desserts, Zen! You deserved every bite. And what a great haul of books. Rapunzel is your favorite – did you like the Disney movie Tangled? I bought it for our granddaughter, and I love it!

    • I absolutely adore Tangled! I’ve watched it like six or seven times already and I never tire of it! So amazing.

      And I do believe the flower is an orchid. It was a lovely touch! Especially since they had it in a little dinky jar instead of a fancy vase.

    • It is also my celebratory method, my pick-me-up method, my boredom cure method… I use sweets and books as an excuse for everything, but shhh – don’t tell anyone. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

