My Vacation in Pictures

Going for nearly three years without a proper vacation can do terrible things to someone’s mental health, especially if that particular someone is a workaholic. So during the month of April, I went away on vacation… which would explain my long absence from the blogosphere. It was something I desperately needed, at a time when I was dealing with a lot of personal issues and work was starting to take its toll on me.

I went to UAE for 20 days during which I stayed with one of my best friends. We had a blast I swear. It was so much fun, so amazing, that it was difficult to imagine anything else. When I woke up in my own room after I came back, it took me a moment to register that I was not in my friend’s place anymore, especially since I’d come to consider it home more than anywhere else. Still though, I had a really good time. 

And in typical Zen fashion, we had a lot – and I mean a LOT – to eat, so much to the point where my friend actually said at one point that she misses feeling hungry. Below you will find some of the highlights of what we ate (of course you can click for bigger images).

Needless to say, I gained a bit of weight. There was so much I wanted to try and so little time, I just had to take advantage of every day. All these restaurant meals don’t include all the snacks and chocolates I bought from places like Candylicious and Hershey’s World. I also did a bunch of shopping and got a stack of books as well, haha. Random snapshots below!

And now I’m back home. I started a new job today, and hopefully I’ll be able to get some writing and editing work done as well. I also promise I’ll be more active on this blog from now on!

When was the last time you went on a vacation? Did you indulge in a lot of food and shopping too? Do you think I went a little overboard? xD

18 thoughts on “My Vacation in Pictures

  1. Sounds like you had a great–and well-deserved–time away. All those pictures of yummy food! I probably shouldn’t have read this after a big workout and before lunch, because now I’m starving. 🙂

    Welcome back!

    • Thank you, Carrie!

      I did have a wonderful time. It did me a lot of good. And yeaaah, you probably shouldn’t have. I felt hungry writing this post even though I’m the one who had them all!

  2. It’s been ages since I’ve taken a “real” vacation – one where I wasn’t being Mom for my kids vacation or mixing in a little business. I’m jealous of the food and the time, but good for you! Congratulations on the new job. I hope it goes well for you and includes a generous amount of paid time off.

    • Aww, I hope you can have a vacation soon. I really didn’t realise what I was missing until I took it. But thank you! I really hope it goes well, but it’s too early to tell just yet!

  3. I used to live in UAE before, and all of this takes me back to memory lane! 😀
    That is a lot of food and looking at the pictures, now I’m hungry. Haha.
    Since I’m Indian, I need to ask – how long did it take you fully recover from all the spicyness? 😛

    • Being a previous resident in UAE, I can definitely say that when I visited, everything I saw took me down memory lane.

      Hahaha, it took me a few minutes! I wasn’t expecting it to be so spicy! I had a mango yoghurt drink to soothe my taste buds afterwards. 😉

  4. Food is one of my favorite experiences when traveling – super jealous of all the tasty things you were able to try!! And good on your for taking such a long vacation. It’s crazy how much we get wrapped up in work sometimes, and once we break out of that bubble we remember that there is so much more to do. 8D

    • I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one! I don’t think you really go on a vacation without trying all sorts of different foods. And yes! Now that I’m back from vacation, I feel like I can approach work with a clear head, and I don’t feel so stressed anymore. It’s great!

  5. How awesome for you! I’m just coming off of a monthlong unemployment stint. I feel pretty rested but also a little crazed getting into a new job.

    I usually workout and eat super healthy before and after vacations, so I can splurge all I want during. That food collage up there is making my tummy growl! Alright, time for breakfast. : )

    • Haha, I was a little lazy getting into my new job at first, but I’ve got a handle on things now!

      I suppose I should’ve done that, but I did a lot of stress eating before my vacation, and even now I still haven’t mustered up the energy to get back to exercising. I know I should though… must lose all this extra weight. D:

  6. What beautiful photos! Looks like you had a great vacation. I like the food photos. I had soup in a bread bowl for the first time a few years ago; it’s so pretty! I’m so glad you were able to go on holiday before starting a new job; all recharged is the best way to start a new job 🙂

    • It was wonderful! And yes, I agree – it is very pretty! Yeaaah… considering how tired I am now, I think that I would’ve been burned out if I hadn’t gone on vacation.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

