Rebuilding My Bookshelves

One of the most difficult things about my move to a different country is the fact that I had to leave more than 90% of my books behind. They were too heavy and there was no way I could cram them all into my suitcases… unless I was prepared not to pack anything else. So I only brought twenty books with me, and they’ve been looking at me forlornly from their single small shelf since I got to Dubai… so sad was their appearance that I had to find them company. Fast.

My big pile o' books.

My big pile o’ books.

I arrived here on the 18th of October. Since then I’ve accumulated 11 news books, bringing my total to a whopping 31. I’m trying hard not to bring that number up anymore for the time being, but it’s proving to be so incredibly difficult. The bookshops here are absolutely lovely, and far bigger and better than anything I found back in Lebanon. One particular bookshop, Kinokuniya, was so big I needed four hours to browse through it. And even then I was barely thorough. I was so overwhelmed by the fact that there were many books there that I’d been looking for and hadn’t been able to find before. My wallet complained. Loudly.

So yeah. I bought a lot of books. And I found myself buying a lot of hardcovers too. I usually buy paperbacks, but in the face of all the gorgeous hardcovers I came across I could not resist. This country has corrupted me. But for now, I’m just going to highlight a few of my favourite picks!

2014-11-08 22.11.03

Isn’t it absolutely irresistible?

First up is this gorgeous Alice in Wonderland & Other Stories book. I’d seen it online before and was itching to lay my hands on it. It has over a thousand pages and is filled with lovely illustrations. Of course, the pages have a golden trim which makes it all the more special!

No comments needed here.

No comments needed here.

I bought this one today. I actually was already holding several other books when I spotted it, but I dropped them all and got this one instead. It has all the books in the series, and the cover is absolutely gorgeous. It was a bit on the pricey side but I justified it to myself. Sort of. I’m trying not to think about it. >.>

2014-11-08 22.12.16

I’ve been searching for this one for a while ever since I saw it circling around the Twitterverse a couple of months ago. It’s a collection of twelve winter romances written by some favourite authors of mine, including Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. It also features some bestselling authors like Holly Black, Stephanie Perkins, Laini TaylorΒ Garle Forman. There was a different edition, but I loved this one more, with the little illustrations inside, the light blue hard cover and the bright pink page trim!Β I’m not usually a fan of pink but it looks so good on this one. Reminds me of cotton candy. I love it! Can’t wait to dig my teeth into it.

Then we’ve got Inferno by Dan Brown… and a story to go with it.

2014-11-08 22.17.04You see, I was supposed to meet Dan Brown. That was the initial plan anyway. He was coming to an international book fair held here and I had been looking forward to meet him. I even left work early. I didn’t count on the traffic. I was stuck on the road for nearly four hours, and by the time I got to the book fair, he was gone, and all his signed copies were sold out. I was so incredibly disappointed. Luckily, in his honour, the hardcover of Inferno was being sold at a 70% discount, so I grabbed it. It wasn’t a total loss, but still… I’m sad I didn’t get to see him, especially when it’s unlikely that I’ll ever meet him again. 😦

And finally, we have this book by one of my all-time favourite authors, Terry Pratchett. I’ve been finding more and more books by him published under this edition, and they’re stunning. Each one is more beautiful than the next and getting them all will break me financially, so I’m taking it one book at a time. There’s no telling when I might lose all self-control though!

2014-11-08 22.16.20

Oh look! It comes in one of my two favourite colours too! =D

So there you have it. One girl’s attempt at rebuilding bookshelves that held over 400 books… while at the same time managing all her other life expenses. It’s very difficult. I’m trying my hardest to behave too. =[

Did you buy any new books lately? Read any from my pile? What do you tend to buy usually – hardcovers or paperbacks?

28 thoughts on “Rebuilding My Bookshelves

  1. I’ve never read Terry Pratchett (though I do mean to), but Douglas Adams is one of my favorite authors ever. The Hitchhiker’s Guide series is one of the funniest I’ve ever read, and I think it was the formative influence on my own writing style. Good stuff, that is.

    • Oh you have to try it out! His style of humour is actually kinda similar to Douglas Adams’. A bit of a warning though: most fans agree that Pratchett’s earlier novels are not very good, and they don’t give new readers a fair impression of the Discworld series. I’d recommend starting with later books!

  2. Such lovely hardcovers! ^-^ I tend to buy paperbacks as well, because I am lacking in funds. However, there seems to be more and more of these lovely hardcover editions coming out to tempt me into emptying my wallet. haha! For instance the Jim Henson novelizations of Labyrinth and The Storyteller that I recently acquired… My only regret is that I didn’t have enough to also get The Dark Crystal. *sigh*

    Always nice to find someone who understands my woes. Good luck with your shelf rebuilding! ^-^

    • Part of my reason for buying paperbacks was also lack of funds. However, I’m earning a lot more right now, so I’m able to afford this kinda luxury. πŸ˜‰ I just googled those… they look beautiful!

      And thank you. I feel it will come along nicely!

  3. Dude, these are all so pretty! I used to buy way more hardcovers when I was younger, and now your post makes me want to run out and find some. Especially since books decorate most of our homes, nothing beats a beautiful hardcover. πŸ™‚

    • Aren’t they though? I fell in love with each one of them! They’re so pretty I’m actually afraid to start reading them. xD And you should! Beautiful hardcovers are the ultimate decorations!

  4. Haha, I figured it wouldn’t take long for you to restock your shelves. I probably would be doing the same thing. I only buy hardcover if it’s a book by one of my favorite authors or a book I can’t wait in line for at the library (because I want to read it right away).

  5. Such great covers! I have a Hitchhikers Guide that looks similar. It was a gift that I cherish. The books that you brought over – were they books that you had already read (old favorites) or new books you haven’t read yet?

  6. Omg! Same sentiments here! I also moved to Dubai, and it almost broke my heart when I had to leave my babies. But I’m starting my new book pile, I love the Alice In Wonderland cover, I might check it out when I stop by at Kinokuniya. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh you have? Awesome! I never met anyone on my blog who lives in Dubai.

      Oh you should! There’s a whole bunch of different titles with gorgeous covers. I have my eye on a Sherlock Holmes one!

      • Me too! That’s why I got so excited when you mentioned that you moved here, I was like “omg! someone from the blogosphere who’s in the same region as I am, and she knows how I feel.” haha!

        I would definitely check those out, but I have to be careful not to make my wallet cry like you did πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

        • Haha, yes, exactly! xD But to be fair, Dubai is awesome and you get many book options here. Where I lived there weren’t even any second-hand places, but here you can find them!

          Oh I think that will be difficult to manage! Everything about Kinokuniya is tempting. πŸ˜‰

        • Good to know that you found book heaven here πŸ™‚

          To be honest, I almost cried the last time I went there because I was controlling myself to one book purchase per visit haha!

          I hope you’ll enjoy your move here in Dubai and find old friends, meet new ones, and not miss home too much πŸ™‚

  7. I had the exact same problem when we moved to Hong Kong, so I can totally sympathise. I had to give all my books away and it broke my heart! I’m rebuilding my collection slowly but surely πŸ™‚

    That Alice in Wonderland book is gorgeous, not surprised you bought it! So is the Terry Pratchett. I much prefer that edition to the usual cover art actually, although I’ve never come across it before. Will have to keep an eye out!

    • Oh wow, you gave them away? D: I only left them at my parents’ place so I know they’re still waiting for me. I can’t imagine parting with them!

      It’s so beautiful! I often find myself just picking it up and admiring it, haha. And I know what you mean. Sometimes the cover art is decent, but other times it’s just plain weird. These are perfect!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

