Bookish Questions!

Lately I’ve been quite busy with my apartment hunt and finally finding a place and moving into it that I haven’t had the chance to visit this blog much. I’m still epic busy, but I’m gradually settling in and will write a post about it later, but until then, here’s a book meme I stole from Maggie – it looked like fun! Feel free to answer them yourself! 😀

You have 20,000 books on your to-read list. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
I don’t. I have enough trouble deciding with 60 books on my to-read list, let alone 20k! The best way to go about this would be an automatic book generator or something, because let’s face it, eeny meeny miny moe won’t get past the first 20 to 30 books! 



You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
Committed to the very last page, though I start skipping passages if I get too bored. The only time I’ve quit a book is when the content became way too explicit for me, borderline an erotica.

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
That happened to me once. I cheated and lowered the number of books. >.> I’m so ashamed. Thankfully, right now I’m just one book away from winning my 50 books challenge, so yay.

The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

Oh god that is the WORST. I really hate it when the covers don’t match, and I usually hold out until I found matching covers. Unfortunately this doesn’t work when you’re ordering books through a bookshop… or at least, the shops I’ve encountered don’t allow me a refund/exchange.

Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Usually I end up finding someone who shares my feelings, but they differ from one time to the other. The one thing I’ve learned is that you are absolutely not allowed to say “Lord of the Rings is boring” on Reddit. I mean, don’t get me wrong – I think the story is great, and I love the movies, but the writing style doesn’t do it for me.

You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Not many books can get me to cry, and the few that did were read in the comfort – and privacy – of my bedroom, so fortunately nobody’s seen me turn into a sobbing mess over a book yet!

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book?


I’ve only ever done that with Harry Potter; however, what I do on the few times that I’ve actually forgotten important aspects of a book is go read a summary online to refresh my memory before diving into the new one.

You do not want anyone borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I blatantly tell them that my books are very precious to me, and that I take care of them to the point where I allow no creases to touch their spines and no papers to get any dog-ears. The vehemence in my tone usually puts off people and they politely back away. xD

You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
I just keep trying for the next one. I mean… it’s only natural that I’ll come across books I don’t like, and sometimes it happens that I come across two or three of those in a row, but I stick it through and reach out for a new read. I’m bound to like something eventually!


There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
As many books as I can afford! I have this policy – if I find a book that I’ve been searching for for so long, I will buy it no matter what, because who knows when I’ll come across it again, right? Sometimes I splurge a bit and end up feeling guilty afterwards, but it quickly goes away in the face of all the new books standing on my shelves!

After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
Haha, depends on how many other books I have that I can’t wait to read! Sometimes I’ll buy a much-awaited sequel and get to it right away even if I’ve got many other books before it, but sometimes a book can wait a whole year before I read it. That’s probably a habit I should change. >.>


10 thoughts on “Bookish Questions!

  1. It’s always so fun to read your thoughts about reading because you love reading and books so much. It’s true that when you buy a new book sometimes you just can’t wait to read it right away and then other times it can sit patiently on the bookshelf for a long while. There seems to be a time for every book.

    Glad to hear you found a place to live, Zen!

    • Well I’m glad to hear that! And yes, it’s true that there’s a time for every book – just depends on the mood I suppose. 🙂

      Oh you have no idea how happy I am to finally find an apartment! Thanks!

  2. Fun to read your responses and compare them to mine. I like your idea of a random book generator. I could input all the titles on my to-read list, and when I finished with one book, I’d read whichever one came up next. That would help me finally get to those that have sat neglected on my shelf or on my Kindle for so long. Then again, I’d probably cheat and hit the select button again for a different title when no one was looking. 😉

  3. You’re so cute! This post totally made me smile and it also made me want to sit around and read all day! Luckily I have some time off next week to do just that.

    I’ve cried over a book in public a couple of times, but it’s still not as embarrassing as reading an explicit sex scene in the break room at work once. 🙂

    • Aww, thanks. xD I hope you manage to get a lot of reading done!

      Oh god that’s gotta be awkward. Fortunately I’ve never experienced something like that!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

