Introducing my new bookcase!

I raided my local IKEA recently, and part of my loot was a gorgeous black-brown BILLY bookcase. It arrived on Saturday, and I have spent the last couple of days contemplating how best to arrange my books. You see, I’m not used to having so much space. Usually my books have to double-line or sit on top of each other or squeezed super tightly together, but this bookcase is big… bigger than anything I’ve had. Of course, it helps that I don’t have all my books here with me; I had to leave them all behind in my parents’ house when I moved, but I am planning to rectify this.

When my friends asked how I plan to arrange my shelves, I promptly said, without any hesitation, “By height, of course!” They groaned and called me old-fashioned and told me to think of a more original way to arrange everything. And… well, I thought they could have a point there. New bookcase, new rules, right? This is the result.

The bookcase is six shelves in total, but I don't have enough books with me to fill 'er up.

The bookcase is six shelves in total, but I don’t have enough books with me to fill ‘er up.

There are two things to note here:

  1. For the first time in my life, I did not arrange my books by height. Just you wait though, I’m sure my OCD will drive me nuts by the weekend.
  2. The pretty colour transition! I love looking at it! I experimented a bit, tried arranging them by series, then by genre and by author name, but then turned back to this pattern. True, it means that books of the same series aren’t nestled together, but… for now I think it’s lookin’ good!

What do you think? Should I keep it this way or switch to another shelving pattern? How do you arrange your books?

25 thoughts on “Introducing my new bookcase!

  1. IT’S SO PRETTY, ZEN. I’M DROOLING A LITTLE BIT.

    Seriously, good job! The shelves themselves are lovely too.

    I’ve actually been wondering about rearranging my own bookshelves recently. It’s not very long since I last did them, but I’m really warming to the rainbow bookshelf thing (my current one is sorted by genre). But, BUT I have one dilemma. What do you do with series that have different colour books?!?! I DON’T KNOW IF I COULD HANDLE BOOKS IN A SERIES NOT BEING IN THE SAME PLACE.

    Did you have that problem at all?

    • Isn’t it though? I’m sitting here staring at it with a stupid smile on my face. xD

      And oh god yes. I did have that dilemma. In fact, in a few days it might end up irking me so much I’ll switch back to my normal patterns, but… UGH I DON’T KNOW. It’s so colourful and “alive” this way that I do not have the heart to break the rainbow. 😦

      • Hahaa, you’ll have to let me know how you get on. I have such a dilemma about it, it goes against everything in me, haha, but maybe it will look so pretty I won’t mind? :S Maybe I should just try it with my stand alone books… but then, so many books are series!

        • Well it doesn’t hurt to give it a try! I mean… shelving alone is a therapeutic experience, so it should be enjoyable. =D I’ll let you know if it does start eating at me though, haha.

  2. I’m like you–I might be too type A to not do it by height, or at least to not arrange it by author. And separating a series? I don’t think I’d have it in me! 🙂

  3. What fun! They look so neat and pretty! I have the Ikea Billy shelves as well (but the square shelves rather than rectangular ones if you’ve seen those). I try to arrange my books by theme and author but overtime that system has gotten a bit lost, I’m afraid…..

    • I have seen them! Yay bookcase buddies! 😀 I think it’s difficult to maintain a system when you have books coming in all the time. The height system was easiest for this, but I fancied a change! =]

  4. Definitely pretty, but it would drive me nuts looking for something. I don’t arrange by size, but will “categorize” and if I’m in a particular mood alphabetize by author. My books will stay in their categorize, but generally refuse to remain alphabetized for long.

    • Oh dear… I didn’t consider the frustration I’d have when trying to find a book. >.>; And you know I tried the alphabetical order but I gave up a short way into it. Very time consuming! 😦

  5. I usually organize books thematically… History by date, fiction by author, &c. That covers like, 90% of my books, anyway… The rest I usually just sort by genre and then by author.

    • Sorry for the late reply! 😦
      I considered the “by author” method, but got too tired after the first ten books, haha. Though I guess I went about it in a difficult way… it would’ve been easier to arrange the titles in an Excel sheet before working on the shelves. Hmm…

  6. Gorgeous… I do love artfully arranged books. I had a prof in university who told us that she came home one day and found that her boyfriend had arranged all of the bookshelves in the whole house to be in height order, so the books on the lower floors were tall books and the books got smaller as you went upstairs.

    I’m in a limited space situation so my books are double-stacked in front of each other and half of them don’t see the light of day… but someday, the IKEA bookshelf binge you had will be mine as well!

    • So sorry for the late reply. Life, unfortunately, happened. 😦
      That is such a cool method of arranging books! I would’ve been so pleased (though a bit disgruntled that I couldn’t do it myself, haha).
      And I hope you get to go on a bookshelf binge! I had been waiting for mine for a loooong time… so, if you’re patient enough, it will happen!

  7. It looks fabulous, honey! I used to do the height thing. This time with my books WAY up on top of my kitchen cabinets, I organized them by genre/author. All of my Yoga books are together, etc. But for the fiction, it’s kind of chaotic.

    I guess I change my mind a lot when it comes to my shelves! 😉

    • Sorry for the late reply, Britt. 😦
      I considered arranging by genre, but colour coordination felt much prettier! It’s good to keep changing things up, though!

  8. Karin Van den Bergh says:

    Looks nice! I organize by genre with some travel artifacts and gadgets in between..probably the reason why I ran out of space now 😉

    • Thanks! I would love to put artefacts and the like in between, but I’m very undertravelled. I hope to remedy that soon! (and so sorry for the late reply!)

  9. Yay rainbow bookcase! ^-^ It is quite lovely. Also, I love the BILLY bookcases at IKEA… I am always drooling over them. Someday, when I have the space and money, I shall have one! …Maybe two…

    I usually organize my books by series, starting with the ones I like best. ^-^ And then I organize me stand-alone books by favorites also. Most of mine are trade paperbacks, and are mostly uniform in height, so it has never even occurred to me to arrange by height. Hmmm, I might have to try it! ^-^

    • I’m really sorry for the late reply.
      The BILLY bookcases are gorgeous. Get as many as you can! I would’ve bought more if I had more space, haha.
      I recommend you try it, though… then again, do what works for you best. 🙂 I didn’t think I’d stick with the colour coordination for so long, but I really like it!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

