It’s that time of the year again… HAPPY CHOCOLATE DAY!

Well, technically, International Chocolate Day falls on the 13th of September, but I had driven myself into a sugar coma yesterday and absolutely could not muster up the energy to put up a post. That said, there’s no reason why it shouldn’t get a celebratory post even if it’s a day late, right?

Okay, okay. I just want an excuse to share pictures of the things I ate. I feel this would be best expressed through a timeline.

10 a.m.Β I had a delicious, warm, buttery chocolate croissant. The only thing that could’ve made it better is chocolate sprinkles.

#1 in Zen's Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

#1 in Zen’s Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

12 30 p.m.Β Lunch time. I opted for a triple chocolate muffin with a gooey chocolate centre that exploded in my mouth (and got all over my fingers) with each bite. It was one of the best muffins I’ve ever had.

#2 in Zen's Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

#2 in Zen’s Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

5 30 p.m.Β After work I went to my favourite sugar haunts, and after debating between a 10-tier chocolate cake and a Ferrero Rocher cheesecake, I opted for the cheesecake, thinking it would beΒ lighter. Boy was I wrong. At least the cake seemed fluffier; but the cheesecake was so rich and heavy and 100% decadent. I downed it with a super sweet caramel coffee drink. By the time I finished, I was feeling slightly sick. My body was screaming at me to stop.

#3 in Zen's Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

#3 in Zen’s Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

11 30 p.m.Β I almost decided against it, but eventually ended my day with a double-chocolate cupcake with chocolate buttercream frosting. I just barely managed to finish it.

#4 in Zen's Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

#4 in Zen’s Intl. Chocolate Day 2015 Celebrations

By the end of the night, I felt so worn out and so terriblyΒ hyperΒ at the same time. It was ridiculous. At some point I crashed on the couch and woke up with a stiff neck. Now you will ask me, “Zen, was it really worth it?” and I will tell you – yes, yes it was incredibly worth it.

Did you eat any chocolate yesterday? If not, will you make up for it today? Do you think I overdid it? xD

22 thoughts on “It’s that time of the year again… HAPPY CHOCOLATE DAY!

  1. Haha, way to go, Zen! You did Chocolate Day proud. The only thing better than a chocolate croissant is a chocolate hazelnut croissant. They have them at the boulangerie a mere three blocks from my house. VERY dangerous!

    • Oh my goodness. Is that like a Nutella-infused croissant? Because that sounds like heaven (and I totally understand why they’d be dangerous!). Maybe I will have to dig around the city and find someone who makes them.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

