The best things in life are surprising.

I am someone who has no patience for surprises. I have this urge to find out about things before they actually happen,Β and get all antsy when I don’t know what’s coming my way, even if I know for a fact that it will be good. When I think about it, it really is an amazing feat on my part that I do not flip to the last chapter with every book I read. But endings are sacred to me – and let’s face it, you can’t really enjoy an ending without knowing the beginning.

Still, I have to admit that sometimes it is better not to know.

I was jolted awake yesterday morning with the insistent ringing of my doorbell. I was greeted – after hobbling around for a couple of minutes frantically looking for pants to go with my short, short night shirt – with purple balloons, cake and streamers and a whole chorus of “Happy Birthday, Zen!” Let it be known that I have never been surprised on my birthday. I always expect or know what’s going on, and I already thought we had a plan for the day… so for them to show up at my door like that, I was actually so speechless I forgot to blow out my candles, and I just stood there with puffy eyes, grinning like an idiot, before I got pulled into hugs and kisses and a little bit of, “Zen, why are you in jeans?”

IMG_20151016_200818

So now I’m 27, and I have no idea what this year will bring for me. There is so much I want to do, so much I want to accomplish before I hit theΒ dreadedΒ 30, and you know what? I don’t know if three years will be enough. Until then, I guess I will just have to take what life deals me in a stride. I am slowly regaining a sense of optimism I had lost over the last couple of years, and it’s making life so. much. easier. Still, I feel like 27 will be a blast.

Do you like surprises? Or do you like a clear-cut plan of every little detail? When was the last time you were left at loss for words? πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “The best things in life are surprising.

  1. I really don’t like surprises and I’ve let my family know this many times. Having said that – a surprise birthday cake would be awesome! Happy Birthday, Zen! πŸ˜€

  2. Oh no! I knew it was the 16th and I let it pass without sending you a word! So here: Happy Happy Happy Birthday! (I love when our birthdays last longer because people keep being late to celebrate sometimes! πŸ˜‰

    I hope you had an awesome day after the lovely and surprising waking! It’s so great they thought about you that way!
    (I LOVE surprises! it’s so much fun! I’m just happy everytime that my friends and family know me and know what I enjoy as a surprise!)

    Have a lovely weekend, full of chocolate, friendship, love, fun and party!
    30 will come in its due time, meanwhile, there’s so much to enjoy! Take your time. Life is definitely a gem to cherish and you’re at the perfect age to do so!

    Cheers!

    • Awww, thank you! I have been so busy I forgot to wish you a happy birthday too! So sorry!

      HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY! I hope yours was great too! Did your family and friends have any surprises for you? May your year be filled with happiness and joy! And as we Arabs like to say when it’s someone’s birthday, “Here’s to your 100s!”

  3. I think all of us writer types are not fan of surprises. My dad did a cool one for my 16th birthday MANY moons ago. It was a party at a pizza place with all of my friends, and he drove out my boyfriend at the time who I had a long distance relationship with.

    Happy Birthday, love! BTW, the dreaded 30’s are better than the crazy 20’s. Trust me.

    • That sounds like a lovely surprise – birthdays and pizza go together well! πŸ˜€ And that was so sweet of your dad!

      Haha, thanks! I will take your word for it. πŸ˜€

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

