Potter on a Pedestal

On Sunday, 31st of July, at 3:15 a.m. I wrapped my hands around a fresh new copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. My friend and I attended the launch/Harry Potter birthday party, did a meet and greet with Hagrid, stayed out of Snape’s path, gorged on some wizarding candy… then waited patiently until the UK midnight release.

IMG_20160731_095312

The best thing about this picture is my Hogwarts Express ticket. Okay and the Hogwarts journal. Okay okay and my House colours. xD

It was a work night and I went to the office on less than three hours of sleep, but you know, I didn’t mind because the party was quite fun and I thought it would be all worth it when I got home and sank into the book with a cup of piping hot tea.

It wasn’t. [This is a spoiler-free post; can’t vouch for comments though!]

The book started out okay, just where we left off in Deathly Hallows, and the nostalgia hit me full force as we were reunited with Harry, Ron and Hermione. Then it all sorta went downhill from there. So many cliches and tropes and things that didn’t make sense. So much tampering with the original seven books. So much absurdness! It didn’t help that it was written in screenplay form rather than the novel form we’ve all come to read and love. I almost want to try and forget that this book exists and that it’s “canon”. That’s just how disappointed at was. At best, you can consider it good fanfiction.

And yet, a lot of people are still giving it five stars and singing its praises. To them, Harry Potter can do no wrong. It is one thing to love a series or an author, but it’s completely different when you are so blinded by your love to the point where you can’t see the faults anymore. To proclaim the book is “perfect” just because you want to be loyal to JKR isn’t helping anyone, and you’d just be getting pulled into the fan mob mentality. Don’t just give it five stars because “Harry Potter was your childhood” and you’ve put it on a pedestal ever since; give it five stars if you’ve really and truly enjoyed it.

Perhaps the only good thing that came out of this book is that it makes me want to read the books all over again. Which of course I don’t have time for. Sigh.

Did you read the book yet? What did you think of it? 

Oh, and here are some pictures from the event!

5 thoughts on “Potter on a Pedestal

  1. Oh dear – what a disappointment, Zen. I must admit that I belong to a very small club of people who have never gotten around to reading Harry Potter so I won’t be reading this one either 😉 But it looks like the event was lots of fun! 😀

    • I actually know quite a few people who haven’t read it, so you’re not alone! While this book is bad, I do recommend the original series. 😉 And yes! It was awesome. =D

  2. I am in the same club as Dianne as I have not read the Harry Potter books. My girls devoured them. Although I loved the Narnia books when I was a kid, I am not drawn to fantasy. I probably should give it a go and see what all the fuss is about!

    • I didn’t know I liked fantasy until I read Harry Potter. 🙂 Also, I should say this, don’t judge the series from the first book. I actually started out with the 2nd book, loved it so much and went on to read the 1st!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

