Sweet Snapshot Sunday #5

It has been such a long time since I did one of those… and not for the lack of sweet things either! If you check out my Instagram, you’ll find it full with pictures of food and sweets (and the occasional stack of books or nature shot); given where I live, there’s never a shortage of delicious things to try.

Sunday is the beginning of the week for us folks in Dubai, so it’s the equivalent of a Monday for almost everyone else. I was in no mood to work. Plus I had an eventful weekend and I couldn’t coerce my mind into getting with the program and accepting that today’s a work day. To shake off my Sunday blues, I went to my favourite dessert shop after work and grabbed myself a cupcake. Got home, changed into my PJs, made myself some karak chai* and curled up with a soft blanket and watched someย How I Met Your Motherย reruns.

Absolutely relaxing evening.

IMG_20160124_191131

Just a tiny slice of Zen heaven.

* This kind of tea is very popular in the UAE (and probably all the Arab Gulf countries). It’s actually an Indian/Pakistani drink brought here by the huge population of expats,ย andย slowly became a local favourite. A friend taught me how to make it recently and I’ve been drinking it almost every night since. It’s very easy to make, and tea lovers should give it a shot!

Ingredients (for 2 cups):

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 2 teabags
  • 8 cardamom pods
  • Teaspoon of cinnamon/couple of sticks
  • Teaspoon of powdered ginger
  • Sugar to taste

In a pot, pour in the water and add to it the teabags, the spices and the sugar. Wait for it to simmer, then add the milk. Let it boil for about 5 minutes. You’ll know it’s ready when it has that nice brown colour in the picture above. Enjoy! Of course, feel free to add more spices if you want the taste to be stronger. ๐Ÿ™‚

How has your weekend been? Have you ever had this kind of tea? What do you do to overcome your Monday blues (or even Sunday if you’re in my part of the world!)?ย 

22 thoughts on “Sweet Snapshot Sunday #5

  1. Hi, I was intrigued by this tea. It sounds similar to chai tea. I would love it without the milk so must give it a try. I’ve had several teas this weekend mainly mint but snuck a crafty earl grey after a spin class. The weekend is nearly over so time to get ready for work, Chloe.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    • Earl grey is one of the best teas ever! And I think milk is essential in this particular type of tea; I’ve never seen it made without it! Sometimes they even skip the water.

      I hope you have a good week! Thanks for stopping by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve never had that type of tea – or even chai tea. I’m a simple Earl Grey type of person. But my #1 drink is still iced mocha coffee. I really need to give it up – too many calories! Your cupcake looks delicious!

    • Oh you must try it! It’s very delicious, especially with cakes (and cupcakes, haha). Iced mocha sounds delicious right about now… even though it’s been such a long while since I’ve had any coffee! This weekend I had my first coffee in two months!

  3. akshay says:

    Yes,… that’s Chai, and your recipe is just right! Let it sit on the heat past boiling to make it stronger. I’m having one right now.
    Nothing beats the crisp of a cup of masala chai for us Indians; at times with some biscuits, mostly Marie or Parle G.

    • Oh okay! So could you tell me why it’s called karak then? And Marie biscuits are perfect with it! But today I just felt like having a cupcake. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • akshay says:

        karak stands for strong, in some of northern Indian languages. You make a strong tea by simmering it for a little while after boiling. It’s already strong though, by western standards.

  4. I’ve never tried this tea, Zen, but it sounds absolutely beautiful. What a wonderful way to spend an evening – with a cupcake, a soft blanket, tea and great viewing xxx

  5. I love all types of tea, and usually drink 4 cups of tea each day, but a fresh chai is tough to beat! I really need to start making my own. I cheat with tea bags and loose leaf tea, then add raw honey and almond milk.

    I stopped buying chais at coffee shops, because they use pre-made mixes everywhere (even here in Barista land). They rarely taste good to me and they have a TON of calories, which let’s face it…I’d much rather rack up some calories on real dessert.

    • Yay for tea! I’m cutting down on coffee and drinking more tea. It feels more healthy and doesn’t keep me up at night.
      I think with chais, to get the real thing, you need to go to places run by desis; they really know their stuff. And I’m with you on opting for real desserts rather than waste calories on drinks! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

