Books as movies.

When it comes to books and their movie adaptations, I’m with the “Books are Better” team. It is rare that I’ll like a movie more than its book counterpart… and I’ll often complain when the movies aren’t true to the books. In fact, I remember complaining so much about Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban so much during the screening that ultimately one employee had to come and told me to hush. I know, I know… I fell into two mistakes there; disrupting the peace of the theatre and breaking the If-you-don’t-like-it-don’t-[insert verb here]-it rule. But since the third book was my favourite, and since it got butchered in the movie, I felt considerably aggravated.

But never mind my teenage mishaps. I assure you I’ve learned from my mistakes, but all that is not relevant here. Not entirely.

While I still prefer books over movies, I still can’t help but imagine my own books as movies. That was fueled recently by reviews I’ve received for Puppet Parade, where a couple of people remarked that it would be great as a Tim Burton movie. I would love to see my characters and the world I created on screen. I can picture them all in my head; I’ve got a mini theatre in there, but movie magic is something else entirely. I’ve even gone as far as trying to decide what actors would best suit the characters… like I’d even have a say in that, haha. Honestly, I don’t care who plays the roles as long as they stay as true as possible to the book and portray my characters properly, the way I always imagine them (it would be terrible if I disliked my own movie adaptation!).

I know that it’s mostly bestsellers that get turned into movies… books that everyone has heard of and have a large fanbase. My book is still obscure, and it will probably be many years before it gathers a fanbase… if any. But one can hope! One can hope, with the increase in producing movie adaptations, that one day some brilliant director willsomehowhear of the book, that they will decide that it could indeed make a good movie. That would be like a dream come true.

How about you, readers? Do you ever picture your books as movies? I’m sure I’m not the only one!

7 thoughts on “Books as movies.

  1. I’m like that when it comes to Stephen King novels. The movies can’t even come close! But with the Harry Potter series I had seen the first 3 movies before my son told me “Mom you’ve got to read the books” I’m sorry I did try, but I just couldn’t get into the books and I love the movies! Same goes for Lord of the Rings. I think it depends on what you do first. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Perhaps! I’m not saying that the HP movies are bad; I do love them, but I didn’t quite get into them as much as the books. Though I agree with you on Lord of the Rings – the movies were amazing, but the books just felt rather tedious to me.

  2. I definitely prefer the books. Four example, have you seen A Clockwork Orange? The book is brilliant but the film totally misses the point!

    As for your own movie adaptation, so many authors get done over by Hollywood. For example, the gentleman who wrote Forest Gump received virtually no money from the company that made the film version. He was so bitter about it, he insulted it throughout the sequel to his first book!

    • I’ve heard of it, but unfortunately never got the chance to see/read it. I will make sure to read the book first! =]

      And seriously? I had no idea. I don’t blame him for being bittter; Forrest Gump is brilliant, and he deserves to get some money from it!

  3. lilaclex says:

    Oh yeah! I always picture scenes I write playing out in my head – with the typical camera angles and voice effects – as if I’m watching the movie. It’s a lot easier that way, I find; almost like it’s a default switch.

    Completely agree on the books are better team. Very few times have a read a book first and liked the movie made after. A lot of times I actually mentally separate both of them because they don’t ‘feel’ the same – like Hollywood just completely missed the goal the book was going for!

    Sometimes, however, I see the movie first and then read the book and for some reason that gives me respect for the differences in both? Like the film adaption of ‘The Firm’ had a completely different ending. I read the book after watching that and loved both of them for completely different reasons.

    They changed the third Harry Potter book adaption a lot? Or was it just not a detail-accurate? For such a big movie/book franchise, that’s disappointing. For someone who’s about to read the books, do you recommend seeing the movies too or skipping ’em?

    • Yes! It helps me a lot in figuring out how my characters should react, what looks too weird, what needs spicing up, etc.

      So true. It often feels like you’re not even watching the same book you read and loved. I like looking for differences between movies and books as well, and sometimes books excel where movies can’t, and vice versa. I guess it depends on the vision of the director and how well the actors perform their roles, no? =]

      Oh no, don’t skip the movies! They’re awesome to watch, and almost all of them don’t stray from the books a lot. The third movie, however, had just been taken up by a new director, and it came as a shock to HP fans because the first two were very detail-oriented, and the third was not. The director learned soon afterwards though.

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

