A day of sweet, sweet indulgence.

I love food. I’m the type to experiment with all kinds of meals and sweets, and people usually ask me for recommendations when we go out to eat. However, I don’t really have an absolute favourite dish. I like many things… shrimps, lasagna, mushroom steak, cookies, brownies… but if you asked me to name my favourite kind of food, I couldn’t tell you. Yes, yes, I do love chocolate, but even then I couldn’t tell you my favourite brand/kind. πŸ˜‰

I did come close to asking for seconds yesterday though. This has been a particularly stressful week in which I even had to work overtime, so I decided to reward myself on Friday with some sweets. An exceptionally bad week requires an exceptionally good treat, so I didn’t hold back.

I went to my favourite dessert shop in town. First on the menu was Caramel Toffee Crunch Cake and a red velvet cake ball. They do sound delicious, don’t they? And they were as yummy as they sound. The cake was a delicate caramel flavour that wasn’t too overpowering, but compensating for that was a thick layer of sweet toffee and crunchy pieces that positively melted in your mouth. As for the cake ball, it was a deep red colour and a lot more denser than an actual cake. If I had to liken it to something, I would say it was like a truffle… a delicious truffle made from sweet red velvet.

Doesn't that look heavenly?

Doesn’t that look heavenly?

The second course was more… refreshing. Warm chocolate fondant (or otherwise called a lava cake) that bled a dark, bittersweet chocolate paste when you broke into its cake shell with your fork, and on top of that a very large scoop of vanilla ice-cream that complemented the bitterness of the fondant really well. After the sweetness of the caramel cake and the cake ball, this was something that helped cleanse the palate in a way.

It was a big difficult to eat this, so the ice-cream had to be moved to the side so as to dig into the fondant, haha.

It was a big difficult to eat this, so the ice-cream had to be moved to the side so as to dig into the fondant, haha.

The final dish was the one that almost made me ask for seconds. It was unlike anything I’ve had before, and I enjoyed every spoonful of it – the banoffee. I’d always seen it in that shop but for some reason never dared to try it, but it was glorious and I really loved it. The banoffee consisted of a smooth, creamy golden layer of dulce de leche contained caramelized banana slivers. I never thought I’d like banana in my sweets, but the mute sweetness of the banana together with the richness of the dulce de leche worked really well. On top of that was a layer of yummy cream sprinkled with coffee, and each spoonful of all three things together made me swoon. The friend who was with me would tell you that my eyes sparkled, haha.

It may not look like it, but this has to be one of the greatest desserts EVER.

It may not look like it, but this has to be one of the greatest desserts EVER.

And yet, I wouldn’t call the Banoffee the best food ever. On my way home, I passed by a shop called Nutellisimo, which apparently serves sweets with Nutella as the main component. I was pretty full by then, but I will definitely be making a trip to that place sometime soon. Anything with Nutella must be incredible to taste. I’ll let you know my verdict then. πŸ˜‰

Have you tried any of these before? Do you have any favourite food/dessert? What makes you ask for seconds? =]

23 thoughts on “A day of sweet, sweet indulgence.

  1. I am so jealous of you right now Zen! The way you wrote about those cakes – made them seem so deliciously pleasurable. Even though I had dinner not too long ago, I suddenly feel incredibly hungry. Zen, I am officially blaming you for every chocolate bar I eat over the next couple hours! Oh, and is it wrong that I can’t wait for your review of that Nutella place? πŸ˜€

    • Haha, that was my intention, so I’m glad to hear you say that. There’s always time for dessert, I say, and I accept all the blame! And it’s not wrong at all; I’ll post about it as soon as possible. πŸ˜‰

  2. So sorry you had such a rough week, and so very jealous that you live so near to a dessert Mecca like that!! πŸ™‚ hope those sweets erased all the stress for you! And now I am off to rummage for whatever chocolate I can scrounge up in the house!

  3. Okay, there’s bumpy cake. It’s a Michigan thing. I love it and request it often for my birthday. A chocolate cake topped with buttercream “bumps” and covered in chocolate frosting. And my Mommy’s double chocolate cake, but that’s because it reminds of childhood. Also, my Uncle Stanley’s cherry cheesecake with Rice Crispy crust. ^_^

    So many sweet things! Just reading this made me eat far too many chocolate chip cookies.

    • I just looked up the bumpy cake! It looks so rich and delicious. =D You can never go wrong with double chocolate, and your uncle’s cheesecake has an interesting combination!
      Haha, always glad to be of service. πŸ˜‰

      • It is! It’s sweet without being too sweet. I was skeptical the first time I tried it, but it’s great!! And my uncle’s cheesecake is legendary in our family. He passed away at the beginning of last year and we’re still looking for his recipes.

    • I hope you can get something sweet yourself, Dianne! It was all very destressing, and I felt a lot better when I got home. πŸ™‚
      I will definitely post about that place! I’m really looking forward to going there.

  4. Aggghhh you’ve made me really really hungry!!! Anomnomnom. πŸ™‚ I’ve never tried any of these but they all look fantastic! I did go shopping in Oxford Street yesterday though and found this place called Ed’s Diner and I had a really delicious vanilla milkshake and New York Style Vanilla and strawberry cheesecake. It tasted like heaven. πŸ˜€ I have to say I think cheesecake is probably my favourite dessert.

    • Haha, they were! I do recommend the banoffee especially. =D Next time you go to a place that serves dessert, ask if they have it. That said, I love vanilla milkshakes, and that cheesecake sounds heavenly!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

