I missed my own blogiversary!

Out of curiosity, I went back to the very first post on my blog – no don’t go looking; it’s nothing special!Β  – and to my dismay I found that it was dated 12 March 2012. This means that Zen Scribbles is now 1 year and 1 week old. I can’t believe how quickly the time flies! Sadly I’m on a self-imposed chocolate ban, so no celebratory treats for me today. =[

(Photo Credit: http://whengeekswed.com)

(Photo Credit: http://whengeekswed.com)

If you had told me last year that I was going to keep up with this blog for a whole year, I would’ve laughed in your face. I’m terrible at committing to blogs, and this current one is actually the result of two other failed projects. That said, I’m really pleased I stuck around for so long. So many things happened; I met a lot of fellow writers and made new friendships, one of my posts got freshly pressed, I came across some awesome new reads and learned a few things along the way.

During this year, I learned…Β  from Maddie Cochere that Curcumin is great for pain. Since exercising hasn’t been agreeing well with my body and causing me much pain, I may have to take her up on her advice and get me a dose of that.

I learned from T. W. Dittmer that the best you can do in the times of anger and anguish and frustration is to simply be here. A few words can always carry volumes.

I learned from Dianne Gray that you can move a whole house across the country. I never thought that could happen. I mean, I’d heard that you could move furniture, but never the actual house! I also learned that there’s a fruit that tastes like chocolate puddingthat I definitely have to try.

I learned from Robin Coyle that grammar does not have to be all boring and text books; that’s what they want you to believe at school. It can actually be pretty fun, even if you have to bathe someone in onion breath to make them turn to you.

I learned from Michelle Proulx that iUniverse is more trouble that it’s worth and I should stick with Lulu forever and ever and ever, because at least they have not changed the title of my novel from Imminent Danger to Immin Dang… however catchy the new title may be.

I learned from LouAnn that you canΒ find bliss in embracing all your messes, and that you don’t really have to achieve perfection in order to be completely happy with your life.

And a number of other things from people in passing or posts I can’t seem to find now (sorry I couldn’t mention everyone!). It’s been a pretty good experienceΒ  and I enjoyed it, even when my stats dropped or when I couldn’t find something to write about or when someone unfollowed me… I still go into a frenzy of “Why? What did I do?!” when that happens though.

To those who have hung around for so long, thank you so much. Your comments and likes make my day, and I appreciate every single one of them even if I don’t show it. However, this time I do want to show it by offering you the chance to win a $15 Amazon Gift Card. I’m also throwing in two eBook copies of Puppet Parade for two other commenters. To enter, simply comment on this post before the end of this month.

To make things more interesting, why don’t you tell me something you’ve learned during your blogging time? Any fun fact would do! πŸ™‚

65 thoughts on “I missed my own blogiversary!

  1. Eek! Your prompt is chosen for the Daily Prompt AND it’s your blogiversary week?! Sounds like you’re rockin’ it! Congrats, Zen!

    I learned more about how to care for a bruised coccyx from other blogers than I learned from medical books OR doctors. Hurrah for blogging friends and their endless well of wisdom! πŸ˜€

    • Haha, it was a happy coincidence! Thank you, Rara. =D
      And now thanks to you I know what a coccyx is (and I hope it isn’t giving you much grief). Hurrah for blogging friends indeed!

  2. Happy one year and a week — that is what I like about you — you do not celebrate the mundane–you celebrate a year and a week! What I have learned is not to watch my stats so much – or get upset when someone unfollows–no, no – I have not learned that yet–I always wonder what I did when someone leaves……..

    • Haha, yes! I like to be at the top of my game, you see. πŸ˜‰ Thank you! And I don’t think any of us can learn that. We can understand the need to stop worrying, but it never works. D=

    • Congrats, Derek! You won a copy of Puppet Parade. Do let me know the format of your preference and I’ll be sure to send you one soon. =D (I’ll require an email too, of course)

      • Just realised I can’t DM you (sad face). Here’s an e-mail address of mine; if I start receiving some weird e-mails though, I might blame a certain purple haired lady…
        (email screened)
        Thank you again Zen! Have a good week! πŸ˜€

        • I wonder why you couldn’t DM me. That’s weird. Either way, I’ll screen out your email once I send you the book, so you don’t have to worry about any weird emails. πŸ˜‰
          You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy the book. =D

  3. Congratulations on your Anniversary! I started my blog in December 2012. I have learned that it takes a lot of time to manage a blog, but the kindness and helpfulness of the bloggers you meet make it all worthwhile. πŸ™‚ One of my favorite things I love to do is finding a fairly new blogger, that is actually very good, and helping promote their blogs by reblogging, twittering, facebooking, tumblring, pininteresting, and googleing their posts. I know I just made up some words, but they sounded right at the moment. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And I do agree with you; blogging is definitely a good thing to invest your time in especially for the people you meet along the way. And those words sound okay to me! πŸ˜‰

  4. What a thoughtful way to celebrate your one-year blog birthday! Mine passed, and I did nothing to commemorate it. Well, I guess I did change by blog theme…

    Good luck with your chocolate avoidance. You are a better woman than I.

    • Thanks, Carrie! I guess it was just a big deal for me because I’ve never maintained a blog for so long, haha. I hope this gives you ideas for your next anniversary. =D
      And the chocolate avoidance is going well… nearly three weeks now. It’s especially difficult when my day job is being a pain and I can’t down my sorrows in a Cadbury caramel bar. 😦

  5. Happy Blogiversary, Zen! I don’t know how people find new bloggers, but you came to my blog very early, and I appreciated so much that you left a comment. Yours has been one of my favorite blogs since, and I still marvel at how much we have in common. I love that your Freshly Pressed post was about chocolate :-); your blog posts are so creative. You have a wonderful way of presenting topics and drawing your readers in. So glad you stuck with it, and hope there are many more years to come. (Self-imposed chocolate ban or not, I would have had one little treat.)

    • Awww… thank you, Maddie. I’m glad to have known you from the start, and I think it’s awesome that we share so many things! πŸ˜€ Thank you for all the lovely comments (and the compliments!) you’ve left on my blog; I appreciate every single one of them. And I did treat myself to some low-fat oatmeal and raisin cookies, so I guess that’s something? πŸ˜‰

  6. Congratulations Zen! Seems like you have managed to do a lot in a year and I am highly jealous of freshly pressed status. πŸ˜‰ Hopefully you will have many more great years of blogging!

    Hmmm…the best thing I’ve learned…. I’ve improved my spelling and grammar so much since I’ve been blogging, I also think my writing has improved just from posting so often and I know a lot more about some classic authors and history from reading other people’s posts. It’s amazing how much you can learn now I think about it.

    I would love to be entered into the giveaway please. πŸ™‚

    Again, happy belated blogoversary!!!!!!

    • Thank you, Becky! It has certainly been a productive year. =D
      It’s great that you’ve detected improvement in your writing through blogging. Whoever said blogging is a waste of time seriously doesn’t know what they’re talking about.
      And of course you’ve been entered! πŸ™‚

  7. Happy blogiversary, Zen! My blogiversary is in June. You and I became blogging buddies in July, so you’ve been with me for this whole wild ride!

    I’ve learned that bloggers care about each other (I received a few emails earlier in the year when the floods were happening and I didn’t post – bloggers were checking to see if I was okay) πŸ˜€

    I’ve learned that there are great books out there like Puppet Parade and The Seneca Scourge. πŸ˜€

    I’ve learned that you’re a great interviewer πŸ˜€

    I’ve learned that you’re a great writer πŸ˜€

    I’ve learned that there is another emoticon I can use when I’m giggling πŸ˜†

    Well done, my friend. Cheers to the next 12 months! xoxoxoxo

    • Dianne, I love that I’ve known you for (nearly) all your time on WordPress. =D I too have learned that bloggers care a lot about each other, and I’m glad you liked my book! You know I liked yours too. πŸ˜‰
      You’re so sweet! Thank you. =D
      Also, I don’t know about you, but for some reason that emoticon looks to me like they’re crying! Or else grimacing. Maybe that’s just me, haha.

  8. I do believe I follow every blog you mentioned here! What a small world blogging is, especially when you consider how many bazillions of blogs there are!

    Happy Anniversary to you, my friend.

  9. Happy blogiversary! My own wordpress blog is also an achievement of my own. I’ve been posting steadily on it for six whole months. I can’t wait till my own blogiversary (or, the day I decided to devote to this blog and nothing more.) It’ll be a real party!

    • Thank you, Mariella! And it seems like you’re halfway there, so keep on going. I’ll be sure to attend your blogiversary when it rolls around. πŸ˜€

  10. μ΅œλ‹€ν•΄ gongjumonica says:

    Congratulations on your first blog anniversary! Mine is just a few days ahead of yours. I am happy to meet you here in WordPress and would like to see more of your writing.

    I’d like to read your book, too! πŸ˜€

    • You know, if it weren’t for your anniversary I would’ve never thought to check mine, haha. Thank you! =D I’m glad to have met you too, and good luck with the giveaway. πŸ˜‰

  11. Congrats on your anniversary! πŸ˜€ (that I’ve missed by a few days…)
    You are probably one of the few bloggers that I like reading. Sorry that I haven’t commented in a long while, but university is VERY demanding! I’m trying to catch up though…

    What I learned in my blogging adventure:

    I learned that having a blog is like having a puppy. You always want one and dream of having one, but once you get one you realize how much work and responsibility it is. It teaches you how to be more organized so that you can spend more time with it and teach it cool tricks to impress everyone with. Do not neglect a puppy; it’s just bad and people will start to ignore or hate you. In the end, after the masses of work you put in, you have a healthy and happy puppy that makes everyone who sees him happy as well.

    I hope you like my puppy analogy… It’s true if you think about it.

    I will try to keep up to date with your posts, because I like your writing a lot! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And no worries – I totally understand how demanding universities can be. πŸ™‚
      And your puppy analogy really fits! I do like it. And I do appreciate you saying that about my writing. Thanks again, Dante. =D

  12. Oh man, I hate it when people screw up on book-movie adaptations. By the way, I love the new blog design!

    What have I learned while blogging? Connections. They are important and you have to be active. You have post often but you also have to be active in other ways too. You need to use social media and all that good stuff because otherwise people don’t know your blog exists. But most importantly, connections and persistence.

  13. I learned that saying “I have writer’s block” when I’m healthy is lazy and wasteful because I’ll need those days for when I’m in so much physical pain that I can’t think straight or sit at my desk to write.

  14. Wow, I do have a lot of catching up to do! Happy blogiversary! I guess the best lesson is to have fun with your blog. I realize everyone has their own motivations for blogging. Some of us are trying to promote our work. Some of us have something to say and use this as our outlet. And some of still don’t know why we are on here blogging! But no matter the motivation, remember to at least enjoy the act of blogging.

    Congrats to you on all of you accomplishments.

    • Thank you, Nicole! That is indeed a very important lesson. Once you start feeling like your blog is some kind of chore, then you know it’s time to step back and consider the next step. πŸ™‚

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

