Sweet Snapshot Sunday #3

It’s time for another one of those posts where I share drool-worthy pictures with the masses and giggle with glee as hunger starts bubbling within you and… er, I mean… what? I don’t do anything like that. I don’t.

*clears throat*

Work has been hectic as always, but I finally allowed myself to leave the house for a few hours and expose myself to some sun. I swear I am so pale you would not believe me if I said I was experiencing my hottest summer in years. Plus I was getting very crabby and was desperate for a breather. I went to one of my favourite “sweet haunts” – Magnolia Bakery. Next to my No. 1 dessert – the Snickers Icebox Pie – I had a Chocolate Chunk Blondie with a layer of chocolate on top aaaand a Vanilla & Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake.

They were all very delicious. =D

Vanilla & Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake

Vanilla & Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake 

Snickers Icebox Pie

Snickers Icebox Pie

Chocolate Chunk Blondie

Chocolate Chunk Blondie

And of course, what dessert run would be complete without books? Though you probably expected that. Sweets are almost synonymous with books now. I went to the bookstore intending to buy just one book, and I actually almost did walk away with NOTHING (preposterous, I know, but the store didn’t have a very good collection) when I saw Landline and Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, an author who recently made her way into my heart. I absolutely could not resist, though I was very nearly turned off by the fact that they weren’t of the same size (my other two Rowell books are similar in terms of trim).

Don't they look lovely? I can't wait to sink my teeth into them!

Don’t they look lovely? I can’t wait to sink my teeth into them!

While we’re on the topic of books, I would like to make a couple of announcements:

  1. The Muse Bunny is currently undergoing its first round of edits, so it may very well be released before the end of the year. I am very excited! Expect frequent mentions of it in the upcoming months, especially since I’m thinking of publishing it via Lightning Source this year, a distributor completely unknown to me.
  2. I have started working again on Penny For Your DreamsRight now I’m mostly rereading it and rewriting some parts so I can get back into the spirit of the book. Guys, I really love this one. I think it might be my favourite work so far.

THIS WRITER IS WRITING AGAIN AND IT FEELS AMAZING.

But… that’s all from me today! What was your last sweet treat? Have you read anything by Rowell, or specifically the two books above? Does it bother you too when books by the same author or at least in the same series are not similar it terms of size and overall design?

16 thoughts on “Sweet Snapshot Sunday #3

  1. Ohhh those sweet treats look so yummy!! I have just had a magnum ice cream. I am reading 3 books atm and Attachments by Rainbow Rowell is one of them. Really enjoying it so far. Yup it totally bothers me when books by the same author are not the same size. Particularly when they’re in the same series (like with The Mortal Instruments for example).

    Go you for getting your writing mojo back! Yay! 🙂

    • Ooh I love Magnum. Have you tried the white chili flavour? That was an interesting one.

      I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying Attachments! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it so far. =D And good to see that somebody understands; some people think it’s a ridiculous thing to worry about.

      Thanks! I’m very happy about it!

  2. Ooh, I’ll take the chocolate chunk blondie please. 🙂

    Yes, it would bother me a bit if the books in the same series weren’t the same size. Wouldn’t look nice on my bookshelf!

  3. Oh wow, those all look so yummy!! Makes my rice krispie treat today look so boring, haha!

    Also huzzah to writing!! It’s awesome to get back into the groove. Can’t wait to hear more updates! 😀

    • Oh but rice krispies are good too! I just love to treat myself when I’m feeling particularly stressed.

      Thanks! I will be sure to post when I can. =D

  4. Wow those look delicious!! I recently was introduced to the wonder that is Magnum ice cream and had two bars because I couldn’t help myself. And then I also discovered this amazing confectionery in my locality. I’ve been eating a lot of desserts ever since! 😀

    • Isn’t it yummy? =D We don’t have it around here, but whenever I go to UAE I like to scarf it down. That, and Baskin Robbins. xD
      I love finding new sweets shops! It’s like my own version of a kid’s candy store.

    • I actually did have these things for breakfast; there’s no rule preventing the swap of “wholesome” brekkie foods with dessert! =D

      Thank you! I’m very happy too!

Talk to me! I won't bite. Unless you're made of chocolate, then I can't give any promises.

